Whole Wheat Bread in a Bread Machine

Whole Wheat Yeast Bread Baking Series:
Part I – Why Me and Why You
Part II – Ingredients
Part III – Technique
Part IV – Recipes

Whole Wheat Bread in a Bread Machine

I have to start with a shout out to my original post on this. The comments are packed with helpful info, though most of the content is now more clearly laid out in this series. There is a cost breakdown of each ingredient, which may be helpful to some.

With 5 minutes of measuring ingredients and 1:55 total time in the machine, I get this beauty:

You can too, but to replicate my exact results you may need to tweak things for YOUR bread machine (or buy the one I use), and there are a few unusual ingredients you’ll need to chase down.

For my family, it’s absolutely worth it to get fresh, healthy, 100% whole grain bread whenever we want it.

Here’s how:

4 c. whole wheat flour
2 TBS wheat gluten
1/2 tsp dough conditioner
1 1/2 tsp salt
2 1/2 TBS canola oil (use half unsweetened applesauce)
2 TBS honey
1 3/4 c. warm water
1 TBS yeast (scant)
Explanation of ingredients

Put all these, in order and without the yeast, into the bread pan of your bread machine. Put the bread pan into the machine and select “Quick Bake” “XL” “Light” and press start. Then measure the yeast into the handy yeast dispenser at the top.

Those instructions are for the Panasonic YD-250 bread machine. Many other machines require the wet ingredients first, and dry next, with yeast sprinkled on top. Check your manual, and consider using a quick setting that comes closest to 2 hour total time. The whole wheat settings tend to push 5 or 6 hours, and end up with a thick, heavy crust that I don’t love.

You’ll find more details in Ye Olde Post

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to two beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Recipes, Whole Wheat Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Whole Wheat Bread in a Bread Machine

  1. Cindy says:

    I love this recipe! I grind my own hard, red, winter wheat and have been looking for a really good bread machine whole wheat bread recipe for it. I recently purchased a Panasonic bread machine, so this was perfect for me. As suggested, I used the rapid bake, white bread, light crust cycle, and it was very tender and delicious. Thank you so much!

  2. beanland says:

    It’s a little bit buried in the post, but I use the Panasonic YD250 and love it. But, I only use the quick bake setting for variations on whole wheat bread, and the dough setting, so I don’t know much about how versatile it is!

  3. Carrie says:

    I LOVE your whole wheat bread recipe and have many loaves. My bread maker recently came to its end and I recently purchased a one pound maker. Do you have any suggestions for me to use your basic recipe but make it smaller? I hope you are able to help me. Thank you!

  4. Liz says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe I’ve used it many times. I wore out my old Sunbeam bread machine (well, it still worked fine, but the paddle got hopelessly stuck in the loaf and yanked out a wad of bread the size of your fist and a replacement paddle cost as much as a new bread machine but that’s another story) Anyway – my point is I replaced it with an Oster and the express setting does not work for this bread, but the regular white setting does great. Thought I’d post the info so anyone who wants to try this recipe and has an Oster will know which setting to use.

  5. JMPJFP says:

    I have a sunbeam bread machine and making whole wheat bread is trial and error. Why does the loaf fall on one side? What am I doing wrong? I like dense bread.

    • beanland says:

      I usually find lopsided loafs that aren’t very smooth on the top are from one of two things: Not quite enough water or too many mix-ins. If my loaf is short on water, it won’t dome really evenly, and if I throw too many seeds and rolled grains in there, it tends to make the top of the bread rough. There’s still a dome, it’s just a bit choppier like the strands of gluten were broken up a bit during the rise.

      I hope that helps somewhat. If you like dense bread, I recommend using a hard red wheat and not grinding it as finely (assuming you grind your own wheat!) . I would definitely skip the dough conditioner because that makes for a lighter, softer loaf.

  6. Pingback: Simple How-to: Making Cinnamon Raisin Whole Wheat Bread | Adventures in Beanland

  7. Pingback: An Ordinary January Day | Adventures in Beanland

Leave a Reply

