The basement- AKA Anne’s hidey hole

I work every day for SmugMug from this desk in the basement.

My work desk

 

 

Though I don’t get a tan down there, or at least haven’t yet, it’s pretty fun. I put pictures up on my desk and splurged on a very comfortable chair.

Awww... what a chair!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notice the PHP book on the desk. It’s the newest of the projects I’m working on. I’m half-way through the crash course already! I just wish they didn’t call it crash course. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Currently, my favorite part of the basement is our laundry room. It’s full of food storage, lots of kitchen gadgets, Scott’s tools and our 72-hour kits… and best of all… The Best Washer and Dryer. Ever.
bah-boom.  The best washer and dryer. Ever.

Though money does not grow on med school trees, we decided to splurge on a washer and dryer that would last and bring us joy. So, we researched on Consumer Reports and when Sears had a sale, we jumped on it.

They are a dream come true after doing laundry at our old apartment. We’d check to make sure the only washer and dryer for our complex were available, then lug our laundry down several flights of stairs. After endlessly slotting quarters, we’d fail yet again to successfully cram our socks AND underwear into the same load.

Look at all the options!  Ooooh...

Yes, we relish being able to saunter down and touch a few buttons and see our clothes get whisked through a high-tech, efficient washing regime. Oh! A hand-wash cycle, you say? I’m glad you noticed! I know what you’re thinking, but don’t worry. If we add too much soap, our washer is smart enough to know that and add an extra rinse cycle.

I could watch it swish those clothes around all day. *sigh*

-Anne

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The basement- AKA Anne’s hidey hole

  1. Anne says:

    Awww… I just did a load of laundry. *sigh*

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    Wow, I know Steve offered to pay for medical school, but I didn’t know that he gave you his TV! I was just shocked when I saw it sitting there on Anne’s desk. He’s so generous.
    Note: I covet your washer and dryer. I think we might have to come visit you just so I can do a load.

    Like

  3. Kristin says:

    Yes Scott, a load of LAUNDRY. Apparently I have to specify.

    Like

Leave a Reply

