Time out for Women

Last weekend I went to a Time out for Women conference put on by Deseret Book. There were speakers and sponsors and decor galore. More decor. (Side note: a local teenager in the area volunteered to decorate the stage. I love my church.)

The focus was on living our religion, living our lives, and being happy about the whole thing… as women. I enjoyed most of the speakers’ comments, but the biggest thing I took away from the conference was the title: Time out for Women.

I was lucky enough to tag along with a fabulous group of women from my neighborhood, church, and aerobics class. We had a blast on the 3(?) hour drive there, chatting each other up about everything under the sun. Mostly young mothers but some no-kids and pregos thrown in the mix, we bonded at Bob Evans, raided Wal-Mart for goodies, played games late into the night, shared secrets, got strep throat (sorry Lisa), ate mediocre chinese food, and had more than our fair share of laughs.

I adore my husband, and do almost everything with him. We cook and bake together, hike together, take road trips together, whisper and laugh… but Scott is not a girl (thank goodness 😉 ). I realized on this trip, more than ever, that girls need girls. We need to chat and giggle and yes, burp and munch and wear jammies. Guys need guy time and boy, do I need my girl time!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Trips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time out for Women

  1. Liz says:

    Here, here to girl time! (esp the kind that includes chocolate)

    Like

Leave a Reply

