Uh-oh… I quilt!

This morning, Scott talked me into going to a “Beginning Quilting Club” that some friends of mine started. Well, now I quilt.

I guess it’s more accurate to say, I’d *like* to quilt… but I’ve learned the lingo, picked a pattern and fabric and I *feel* like I quilt, already! I should clarify here that I don’t intend to become a “quilter”, but it is a skill I’m excited to be able to tuck in my pocket for when we have kids.

After much internal debate, my practical side triumphed and I am starting with a *very* basic pattern. Also, my generous friends sent me home with piles of scrap fabric to use. I’ll likely end up tying this quilt, to save on getting it machine quilted by a pro. All in all, I’m very excited but I think I picked a manageable first project.

I’ll be sure to keep ya’ll posted on my progress. 😉

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uh-oh… I quilt!

  1. Meghan says:

    Yeah Bobe! Just wait, I’ve heard it’s an addictive hobby so watch out! I myself just finished my first ever (solo) quilt and I thought I had chosen something very basic as well- a rag quilt- but it wasn’t long before I was ready to throw in the towel. I stuck it out though and finished, and the end result is something I am actually quite proud of. I look at it and still can’t believe I made it. So I am already excited for my next quilt project. But you are right, definitely DON’T become a *quilter*! Good Luck!

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    Ahh, I do long after the days I’d spend quilting, intermingled with lengthy naps in my cozy bed… 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

