I’m a lister

Well, clearly I have some catching up to do. And I will… I promise.

But, instead, I’m starting off with a list I found on my friend Jessica’s blog. I guess we actually haven’t hung out in person as much… but I do keep up with her blog. Does that make us geek friends? 🙂

Anyway, the list is “things Scott and I have done”. The things at least one of us has done are in bold…


01. Sang the National Anthem at a public event
(definitely me… no wait, chances are you know us better than that. This is definitely Scott)
02. Swam with wild dolphins (we saw beautiful and crazy spinner dolphins off the coast of Maui, but were too busy eating pancakes to swim out to them)
03. Climbed a mountain ( Proof from the Austrian alps)
04. Taken a Ferrari for a test drive
05. Been inside the Great Pyramid
06. Held a tarantula
07. Won a pie eating contest, or any eating contest (I won a pizza eating contest at the County fair, and I believe Scott won a pie-eating contest at our ward party. It was a pudding pie and it wasn’t a pretty aftermath.)
08. Bungee jumped (me in Australia)
09. Visited Paris (not yet, though we are considering stowing away in my brother’s baggage when he goes in a couple of weeks. Please Ben?)
10. Watched a lightning storm at sea
11. . Seen the Northern Lights
12.Stayed up all night long and saw the sun rise
13. Gone to a huge sports game (if only we had gotten tickets to the Michigan game!)
14. Walked the stairs to the top of the leaning Tower of Pisa
15. Grown and eaten your own vegetables
16. Touched an iceberg
17. Slept under the stars
18. Changed a baby’s diaper
19. Taken a trip in a hot air balloon
20. Watched a meteor shower
21. Looked up at the night sky through a telescope
22. Had a food fight (Who hasn’t?)
23. Overcome a fear (Scott is currently overcoming a fear of bugs. However, this is clearly still an open issue. He shuddered visibly when reading the cockroach one, below)
24. Had a snowball fight (Only one for me… my friend beaned me in the nose… blood gushed everywhere. He felt badly 😦 )
25. Screamed as loudly as you possibly can (I get scared… and I alternate between falling down in silent shock and screaming very loudly. Also, the Tower of Terror at Disneyland makes us both scream)
26. Held a lamb (Scott. He said it was unpleasant, but my sister-in-law took care of a pet lambie once and he was apparently adorable.
27. Seen a total eclipse (Scott)
28. Hit a home run
29. Danced like a fool and not cared who was looking (most days)
30. Visited all 50 states
31. Can recite something over 100 words long (Scott)
32. Danced with a stranger in a foreign country (Clubbing in Costa Rica. Ole!)
33. Watched wild whales
34. Backpacked in Europe
35. Taken a road-trip (We’ve been on many memorable ones together. The most recent one was to Columbus!)
36. Gone rock climbing
37. Midnight walk on the beach
38. Gone sky diving (Scott and I both, but separately)
39. Visited Ireland
40. In a restaurant, sat at a stranger’s table and had a meal with them (Scott. I’m still a bit too shy.)
41. Visited Japan
42. Milked a cow (Scott… he’s quite the farmer!)
43. Alphabetized your CDs (Scott)
44. Pretended to be a superhero (Me, recently in a jazz aerobics class with my sister-in-law)
45. Sung karaoke
46. Lounged around in bed all day
47. Slept in a castle (very nearly, several times in Europe after particularly long days of sight-seeing)
48. Gone scuba diving (Both, but separately)
49. Kissed in the rain
50. Played in the mud
51. Gone to a drive-in theater (Scott)
52. Visited the Great Wall of China
53. Started a business
54. Toured ancient sites (not unless you call the Dover castle ancient, which I don’t. Cool, but not ancient.)
55. Taken a martial arts class
56. Played some sort of game for more than 6 hours straight (both of us!)
57. Been in a movie
58. Eaten food you had no clue what it was but did it out of respect for your host
59. Gone without food for 3 days (Scott)
60. Made cookies from scratch (both of us, and Scott’s first time is a great story that you should ask us about sometime)
61. Won first prize in a costume contest
62. Ridden a gondola in Venice
63. Been skinny dipping
64. Rafted the Snake River (who?)
65. Been on television news programs as an “expert”
66. Got flowers for no reason (thanks, Scott!)
67. Performed on stage (both)
68. Been to Las Vegas (both, and together)
69. Recorded music (Scott and the Christmas album was beautiful)
70. Eaten shark
71. Gone to Thailand
72. Bought a house
73. Been in a combat zone
74. Been on a cruise ship (Anne, though Scott says it doesn’t count because it was in a lake… not the ocean. I saw *bah humbug*)
75. Spoken more than one language fluently (Anne, spanish for a fleeting point in time after trip to Costa Rica and double dutch from childhood. Scott is a master pig-latin speaker, as are most members of his family. Man, I gotta learn!)
76. Raised children
77. Followed your favorite band/singer on tour
78. Taken a bicycle tour in a foreign country
79. Picked up and moved to another city to just start over
80. Walked the Golden Gate Bridge (uh-oh, I can’t remember! Surely I have, at some point in time)
81. Had plastic surgery
82. Survived an accident that you shouldn’t have survived
83. Wrote articles for a large publication
84. Lost over 100 pounds (Scott, woot!)
85. Piloted an airplane
86. Petted a stingray (At the Montery Bay Aquarium)
87. Been afraid for your life (Yes, but I’m a bit of a scaredy-cat)
88. Helped an animal give birth
89. Won money on a T.V. game show
90. Broken a bone (My hand, twice… Scott got a spiral fracture in his leg and broke his foot)
91. Gone on an African photo safari
92. Lived longer than a year in another country
93. Fired a rifle, shotgun, or pistol (All three, thank you very much. There’s nothing like shooting with Grandpa in the sand dunes of Utah)
94. Eaten mushrooms that were gathered in the wild
95. Ridden a horse
96. Had major surgery
97 Had a snake as a pet
98. Hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon
99. Slept for more than 30 hours over the course of 48 hours (What can I say, I’m a sleeper!)
100. Visited more foreign countries than U.S. states (Scott. A whirlwind trip to Europe combined with Canada and Mexico. Quite amazing!)
101. Visited all 7 continents
102. Taken a canoe trip that lasted more than 2 days
103. Eaten kangaroo meat
104. Eaten sushi (The most memorable time was midnight half-price sushi and kareoke in Maui)
105. Had your picture in the newspaper
106. Parasailed
107. Petted a cockroach
108. Eaten fried green tomatoes (Scott. Who knew?)
109. Completed a triathlon (both, though Scott has only done one portion of a relay. I have yet to get him in a wetsuit or on a bike!)
110. Read The Iliad – and the Odyssey
111. Selected one “important” author who you missed in school, and read
112. Killed and prepared an animal for eating (Just fish… I’d cry before I touched anything dead with fur)
113. Been elected to public office (Although, Scott was treasurer in elementary school.. “Don’t be a weiner… vote for Beaner”)
114. Built your own PC from parts
115. Sold your own artwork to someone who didn’t know you
116. Had a booth at a fair (National Chemistry meeting in San Diego… go Y-Chem!)
117. Dyed your hair (red once, blond once)
118. Been a DJ
119. Shaved your head (Scott did this? Why haven’t I seen picutres?)
120. Caused a car accident (I hit a tree, but I think the tree started it)
121. Saved someone’s life

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Nothing but random. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m a lister

  1. Kristin says:

    Okay, so I didn’t finish the reading list and my comment isn’t related, but anyway… You went to CA for Turkey Day! Stink pots! You never even told. And here I was telling mom, “I’m sure they didn’t forget to call you, they’re probably just really exhausted from studying and cooking a turkey dinner for two.” BA! I should have said, “They’re tired from playing Wii.” (Which I’m insanely jealous of) Hope you had a good time, and Scott, the mexi-stache is freaking me out. Please shave and resurrect your puppy face.

    Like

  2. beanland says:

    All in good time, Kristin. I was JUST about to post about our Thanksgiving… except that your mom was none-to-happy when she heard the news. 😦

    Not calling her was inexcusable. I shot straight up in bed on Thursday night and said “shoot, Scott! We forgot to call your mom!”. We promised each other that we’d remember first thing in the morning…. I hope she’ll forgive us… eventually.

    Like

  3. Kristin says:

    Mom told me she was going to call you guys, and oddly enough I had a hunch that you were in CA. I’m sure she’ll be okay, just don’t forget to call on Christmas :o) I’m glad you got a vacation and I’m even happier that Scott shaved. Travis says that maybe e should try again after puberty. Ha ha We love you guys!

    Like

  4. Pingback: A few things to report « Adventures in Beanland

Leave a Reply

