That Christmas Spirit…

I thought I’d feel It right after Thanksgiving. The silly songs were playing on the radio, the “perfect gifts for the people who have everything” were on sale at every store, and I even helped my family cut down Christmas trees in the mountains. But, I just didn’t feel It. I just felt sad to leave my family, sad the pies had been eaten, and sick with the flu.

I thought I’d feel It on the 1st of December because, well, it was December! I didn’t then, either. I was busy with work, getting the house in order, and adjusting to Scott’s new school schedule (he promises to post about it soon).

But today? Today I FEEL it.

I haven’t been to a single store since before I went to CA two weeks ago, so I haven’t partaken of the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping. I haven’t turned on any of THOSE stations on the radio, so I haven’t heard the latest Rudolph jingle, either.

In fact, I feel a bit like the Whos down in Whoville, because my Christmas spirit came without the trappings and bows.

Let me explain.

I mistakenly left the nativity scene my mom made me in CA, bringing our total of Christmas-y decorations down to one. That’s right, a single Christmas item in our entire house. I replaced our cheery yellow fruit bowl on the kitchen table with our deer and snowflake glass dish several days ago and haven’t thought much about it since. Now, before you all rush to give me Christmas-y trinkets and tassels and tinsels for Christmas, know this: Christmas came just the same.

I woke up early this morning and spent some time writing Christmas cards, corresponding with old friends, and agonizing over finding the *perfect* gifts for family members. Scott got caught up in it, too. As we reflected on our relationships with family and friends, it hit me right between the eyes. The “Christmas” feeling that I relish each year during this season is about love. Pure and simple.

My best Christmas memories include helping my mom with Christmas preparations – thus giving us a chance to chat, our favorite pastime – , scheming with my brothers to “go in” on gifts for my parents and for each other, and spending hours wrapping presents. The latter really shouldn’t take hours, the wrapping jobs aren’t anything to shout about when I’m done, but I love thinking about the giftee opening the present and hoping that they’ll know I picked it especially for them.

At any rate, I highly recommend seeking out some Christmas spirit yourself. It’s warm and toasty and a perfect companion on a cold Ohio evening.

Ok, Scott is a perfect companion as well, but you can’t have him! And, with his Biochem test knocking on the door, it’s just Christmas and me tonight. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Christmas Spirit…

  1. Kristin says:

    I love this post. It’s simply poetic. You did a great job writing it and I’m recommending you to Hallmark as a commercial writer. P.S. I blog again!

    Like

  2. lisa h. says:

    You’re always commenting on my blog and it dawned on me that I could do the same! Yes, I too love your writing! And I’m glad you finally found that Christmas Spirit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

