Mmmm… Whole Plant Foods

We have some news, Scott and I. We have officially changed our diets. Without going into the nitty gritty of why… it’ll come later, I promise… I’ll tell you what we had for dinner tonight.

The main course was a humongous spinach salad with onion sprouts, grated carrot, toasted pepitas, carmelized onions, and a ginger sesame dressing. The spinach salad in the picture has nothing in common with the one we made, except the spinach. However, I prefer a blog post with pictures and I know you do, too. We (always) forget to take pictures, so use your imagination. 🙂

Someone else's spinach salad

We chowed down on this, eating every last pepita. Then, we had an oven-baked buttercup squash. In case you aren’t as squash-obsessed as yours truly, I’ve included a picture of a buttercup squash. This squash picture is, of course, not ours and is un-cooked.
delicious buttercup squash

I should say here that we ate the squash plain. No butter, no sugar, no cheese… just plain. We wouldn’t have been opposed to cinnamon, salt and pepper, or other seasonings, but we’ve come to enjoy the taste of veggies all by themselves.

Another clue to our new diet is our last “eating-out” adventure. Mongolian barbecue. Veggies, veggies, veggies, and tofu. Eh what? No meat on Scott’s plate? True story.

Stay tuned…

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mmmm… Whole Plant Foods

  1. lisa h. says:

    y’all are very brave, perhaps you’ll inspire me! I’ll have to wait for the details I suppose. missed you at aerobics today!

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    I love Scott’s shirt on your new tag bar. It’s so creative and funny! Someone very cool must have gotten it for him… I wonder who… Wanna know what we had for dinner last night? Noodles! No butter, no sugar, no cheese… just plain. Ethan and I are sick and noodles are about all that sounded good to me. Bet you wish you were here.

    Like

  3. Baldy says:

    Yum!! I R zee veggie man too and missing your yum cooking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

