Why I’m Lucky

Don’t worry… this won’t be a “list” post or it would number in the thousands, at least. I’m just sitting here feeling very lucky (read: blessed) and I want to jot down a few reasons.

I’m lucky because two of my best friends decided to leave food on my porch this week. I dunno if I’m looking a little lean and mangy these days, or if I just have amazing friends… but the donuts and fresh fruit sure were delicious. 🙂

I’m lucky because I married the best man for me. Period. He proposed three years ago this week, and when I look back on what we’ve been through together, I’m in awe of his love for me. I never would have guessed three years ago how deep and unconditional his love was. I’m sure the experiences we’ve had since have deepened it, but he loved me from the beginning. And he loves me still.

I’m lucky because when I looked outside today, a beautiful soft snow was falling. Everything looks so fresh and clean. It feels like a new beginning. That’s a feeling I didn’t expect to get until the spring.

As it turns out, there are new beginnings, even in the middle of winter.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I’m Lucky

  1. Liz says:

    You’re such a studdette! Scott *is* a perfect match for you and I’m so grateful I get to benefit from his being in the family now.

    Don’t eat too much of that fruit… You wouldn’t want to distance Scott from you. 😉

    Like

  2. lisa h. says:

    i’m glad you liked the doughnuts! i mean who wouldn’t like some doughnuts! i’m glad you’re having a “new beginning” and i hope to come see you soon or maybe we can have a girls night and go have dinner some place!

    Like

  3. beanland says:

    @Liz

    Haha… I’ll pace myself on the fruit, don’t worry! Scott will become an even greater asset to the family when he’s finally a doctor, I think. I can’t wait for the “Scott? Logan stubbed his toe. I uploaded a picture to SmugMug. Does it look broken to you?” phone calls. 🙂

    Scott’s family already calls with questions. I think “in medical school” is enough for them to trust his opinion. I have to keep reminding myself that he just Student Dr. Bean at this point!

    @Lisa

    See? Everyone’s trying to feed me. Scott says I don’t look mangy, but I’m not so sure

    I suppose if you INSIST… we can go out to dinner sometime. 😉

    Like

  4. macpeanut says:

    I HAVE to agree with Liz. Thanks for marrying Scott, I really enjoy his lively banter and amazing cooking skills. I guess we’ll keep him around!

    You are both lucky!

    Like

  5. Kristin says:

    I, too, have to agree. I’m so glad that you married Scott and we get to have him in the family. He’s so witty and cheerful and always makes us laugh. Wait… I mean, I’m so glad that Scott married YOU! I love having you in our family because you’re happy, intelligent, supportive, a good friend/sister and a wonderful wife to my brother. You make our family a better family and my brother a better man. Thanks Anne!

    Like

Leave a Reply

