Well, isn’t that cute!

I took a road trip last Saturday with several of my girlfriends in search of good deals on pottery.

Yes, you read that correctly… Anne wanted something kinda cute to decorate The Bean Abode. Although I’m not nearly as crafty as my sister-in-law, I do take pleasure in being able to change our home’s (limited) decor based on the season.

We ventured to Harstone Pottery in a distant town in the wee hours of the morning. We were determined to be the first to enter the store on the day of their huge overstock sale.

It was immediately apparent why they needed an overstock sale. That is one pricey joint! However, after browsing, I fell in love with several pieces and gleefully realized that the originally-high prices just made me feel better about the “great deals” I was getting. 🙂

Scott had given me a stern talking-to the night before. He wanted to be sure that I felt like I could spend money on things that I wanted. I don’t treat myself very often… so he makes sure that I get spoiled on occasion.

Here’s what I picked up:

Cute fruit bowl

Adorable, big big big bowl. Original price: $96. My price? $25. My favorite part: Duh! The moose on the bottom. 🙂

Moosey bowl

Oh, and the fact that it is enormous. Scott and I think big. Even though it’s just the two of us right now, we cook big. Everything in our kitchen is heavy-duty, large-sized, and makes enough food for a family of twelve.

Cute summer accouterments

Patriotic serving bowl, placemat, and 8 napkins. I had my eye on the bowl all morning, and then when I hit up the textile corner and found the cute plaid… I couldn’t resist getting them all. Original price: $50 bowl, $4 each napkin, $6 placemat. My price? $15 bowl, $2 each napkin, $2.50 placemat. My favorite part: I matched them myself!

Girly Tulip towelCute tulip dish towel. Because, it’s about time we had something girly in our apartment. 🙂
It’s out for Valentine’s Day and for Spring. Original price: $6. My price? $3 .
Reindeer napkin

Rad reindeer napkin. Something to put other cute holiday stuff on. Do I have other cute holiday stuff? Not important. 😉 Original price: $6. My price? $3.

Lots of Thanksgiving napkins

8 Fall napkins. Because, one day… Scott and I will host a Thanksgiving dinner. Worst case scenario: no one else shows up and we’ll have four napkins a piece. At least we won’t have any trouble keeping our nice holiday clothes free of cranberry sauce shmutz. Original price: $4 each. My price? $2 each.

Lots of Thanksgiving napkins

Buckeye platter. Because, this is a unique and fun time in our lives, living in Columbus… and it’s the only way I’ll be able to throw a “Go Bucks” into dinner-table conversation. Original price: $35. My price? $10.

All pottery is hand-painted here in Ohio. Also cool: All of it is oven and dishwasher safe. Coolest: It’s cute… and I picked it out. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Seeing Columbus. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well, isn’t that cute!

  1. Kristin says:

    Jealous. I want a pottery store with an overstock sale. Way to go, though. You cashed in big time and I’m particularly jealous of all your napkins and the patriotic bowl. You did a great job on matching and picking some cute pieces.

    Like

  2. macpeanut says:

    Can it be? Our Bobe is becoming homaker-y? I’m so proud! Your home is really coming together, I think you are ready to graduate to floral arrangements and crafty thank you cards!:)

    I love all the great buys, especially the fall napkins!

    Like

  3. Liz says:

    Love the placemats, patriotic bowl and the moose! But next put a pineapple in that moose bowl. We all know a moose likes a good pineapple. (…huh?)

    Like

  4. Liz says:

    Oh, wait!! My eyes deceived me. I see a pineapple in the far back. Way to go with the pineapple!

    Like

Leave a Reply

