Always a Partier, Never a Hostess

I went to a slammin’ party last week for my friend Lisa.

The hostess, Heather, turned down my offer to “bring something”… and I showed up empty-handed and completely unaware of how the evening would shake out.

Now, I’ve liked Heather since the first day we came to Columbus… but as it turns out, she’s fabulous in ways I had not yet realized. Not only did she plan a fun fondue theme, but she had transformed her apartment with adorable Valentine’s decor.

Cute hearts

Drat. I didn’t get a good picture of the creative lights she had done. They were plain white christmas lights, with cut-out pink and red tissue paper hearts covering scattered bulbs. The end result was high on the cute and savvy scale, I thought. You can kind of see them in the background of this picture (in which I also capture the hostess, unawares):

Cute decor and yummy spread

I resolved at the party to be more of an initiator and less of a moocher. I managed to show up, eat, chat late into the night, and have a great time. At the end of the night, I was pretty proud of my accomplishments. ๐Ÿ™‚

But Heather has a gaggle of kids and a fourth of the free time and flexibility with her schedule that I have and she managed to plan the whole thing and carry it out flawlessly. Now, I don’t feel the need to compete with Heather… at least not until we start going to jump rope class together next week… but she did inspire me to be more pro-active.

Hmmm. Perhaps now is a perfect time in my currently child-less life to be a mover and a shaker. A planner and a hostess.

Some friends and I were chatting lately about how fun it would be to have a ‘healthy recipes’ group. Or just to get together and swap tips on how to live a healthy lifestyle. And so… just today I decided to organize and host a monthly interest group on “Healthy Minds and Bodies”.

Here are the topics I’ve come up with thus far:

– Healthy meal and snack ideas. Oh yes, recipes WILL be exchanged. ๐Ÿ™‚
– Happiness and maintaining a positive outlook.
– Making time for exercise… and enjoying it!
– Humor and the benefits of laughter on health.
– Fad diets and how they work (or don’t!).
– Raising active kids and fun ideas to get them movin’
– Growing a vegetable garden. What to plant and how to make it fun
for your family.

Got any great ideas for topics?

Clearly, before I go forward with this group it needs a cool name. “Healthy Minds and Bodies” makes me yawn. And we all know, that’s not very healthy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Always a Partier, Never a Hostess

  1. Pingback: A Valentine’s Extravaganza « Our Lil’ Raskills

Leave a Reply

