I’m a Google VIP

Newsflash: If you search for “list of pie eating countries” on google.com you’ll get 916,000 results. I’ll give you six seconds to guess what the number one result is.

Times up! Yes, that’s right folks. Thanks to the unsuspecting soul who searched for “list of pie eating countries” and ended up at my blog… I am now savvy to the fact that my blog has reached #1 status on Google in this crucial category.

DISCLAIMER: This blog has never had, nor will ever have, a list of pie eating countries. A regrettable consequence of this post is that now, more than ever, pie-loving searchers will be led to this blog in search of such a list.

Other Google top 5 appearances:
“I looked out the window and what did I see” #1
“crayon pinewood” #2
“manfume” #4
“lisa kristen scott quilter” #5

A partial list of “how the heck did you manage to find *this* blog buried amidst the thousands of pages of search results?”
“spinach” (13 million results)
“avoiding cancer” (1.3 million results)
“wetsuit” (1.9 million results)
“work desk” (63.5 million results)
“washer in basement” (1.2 million results)
“our dream house” (38.5 million results
“kick some butt” (did I say that? 1.4 million results)

Unfortunately, I’d guess that the only person who clicked through to my blog from google and found what they were looking for… was the person who searched for “adventures in beanland” yesterday. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Nothing but random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m a Google VIP

  1. Brenda Brown says:

    NOTE: THIS COMMENT HAS BEEN EDITED BY ANNE TO REMOVE PERSONAL INFO

    To Whom It May Concern:

    Erica R. performed wedding photography services for us on October 28, 2006. Despite numerous attempts to contact Ms. R. (voicemail and email) regarding our wedding photo CDs, we have received one return call (several months ago), two emails making empty commitments, and no wedding photo CDs.

    Ms. R.’s photography service advertisement indicates a 2-4 week turnaround time (see attached). The last time we communicated via email with Ms. R. she assured us our wedding photo CDs would be put in the mail the very next day, 2-3 day priority mail (December 19, 2006) ~ See attached copy of email correspondence.

    We thought you may have concerns hosting someone that is misrepresenting their services, or perhaps help us to get in contact with Ms. R. to retrieve our wedding photo CDs.

    Ms. R.’s Contact information is as follows:

    Erica R., Photographer
    **** Studio
    Mailing Address:
    1080 ******
    F., Maryland ****
    Contact #1: 1-***-***-****
    Contact #2: 1-***-***-****
    Email: *****studio@msn.com
    Website: www.******studio.smugmug.com

    We prefer not to make this a legal matter, but we feel at this point we may have no other choice. All we want are our wedding photo CDs for which we paid $650.00 to Ms. R., with cancelled checks to prove it.

    Please – anything you can do to help us is greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Brenda and Jeffrey B.
    ***-***-****
    M. PA

    Erica –
    Please – if you could just let us know when you will be mailing our wedding CDs. As we have said all along – that is all we want. Please…

    Like

  2. Billyhater says:

    To Whom It May Not Concern:

    Billy Joe, Third Grade Bully, performed bullying services for me on October 28, 1988. Despite numerous attempts to contact Mr. Joe (through Snoopy Valentine’s day cards and notes passed in class) regarding my pinch marks and red welts, I have received one return call (back in the 80’s), two scrunched up notes making empty commitments, and no recompense for my bruises.

    Mr. Joe’s bullying advertisement indicates an 8-10 year turnaround time (ask the hall monitor). The last time I communicated via pig-latin with Mr. Joe he assured me that the welts I received would be only temporary and I would get over the personal embarrassment the very next day.

    I thought you may have concerns befriending someone that is misrepresenting their services, or perhaps help us to get in contact with Mr. Joe to make matters right.

    Mr. Joe’s Contact information is as follows:

    Billy Joe, Bully
    Third Grady Bully
    Mailing Address:
    Ms. Jayhawk’s Homeroom
    Row 4, Seat 6

    I prefer not to make this a legal matter, but I feel at this point I may have no other choice. All I want is some kind of closure for which I paid $0.30 to Mr. Joe, with scribbled allowance bookkeeping to prove it.

    Please – anything you can do to help me is greatly appreciated.

    Insincerely,

    Howard Joe

    Billy –
    Please – Don’t hurt me. As I have said all along – this is serious business.

    Like

  3. lisa h. says:

    What are the ‘to whom it may concern’ comments? i’m confused….

    anyhow…i’m sorry for all the pie-loving searchers who will be disappointed! you are so funny, i laughed reading this!

    Like

  4. LB says:

    Just sort of stumbled upon your blog…By chance, are you originally from Erie, PA?

    Like

  5. beanland says:

    @Brenda: I’m sorry that a photographer who uses SmugMug to share her photos online hasn’t been returning your emails. In a situation like this, the best thing to do is email help@smugmug.com . You’ll get an answer in minutes.

    This is my personal blog, and I only wish I was on-the-ball enough to follow up on every comment within minutes of them being made. My co-worker, Andy, is already working with you on this issue, I believe. He’s attempted to contact this photographer via email, phone, etc. and is bending over backwards to help you resolve this issue (even though we just host your photographer’s photos online).

    I’ve edited your post to remove the personal information you had included.

    @Howard Joe: Hehehe. Thanks for the threatening (and hilarious) comment.

    @ Lisa: I don’t blame you for being confused! I was a little surprised to see the first comment as well. My blog is now listed here: http://blogs.smugmug.com , and that might have something to do with it. The second comment was from just one of my many witty blog readers, I guess.

    @ LB: Nope, sorry. Though, Scott did serve a mission for our church in PA for two years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

