Hockey, Bread, and Medical School

Scott and I have had a quiet couple of weeks, but this past Saturday… everything changed.

First, the quiet bits:

1) Last minute, we were given tickets to an OSU ice hockey game and we had a great time cheering our team against our biggest rivals: Michigan. (dum DUM DUUMMMM…)

OSU vs. Michigan

The highlight for me came in between periods when the OSU marching band came onto the ice. Scott and I saw the famous “Script Ohio” for the first time:

Script Ohio

Unfortunately, we lost the game at the last minute (literally). šŸ˜¦

2) Lately I’ve been experimenting with my whole wheat bread recipe. I know… nothing new, huh? Well I tried two different tried-and-true recipes and neither turned out very well for me. My personal made-up “recipe”, however, has been working beautifully.

Unfortunately, I eyeball every ingredient but water and yeast… so I’m never quite sure it will turn out. Also, it has way too many ingredients. Who needs egg, applesauce, canola oil, 2 kinds of whole wheat flour, homemade dough conditioner, gluten, water, yeast, and honey in a plain loaf of good whole wheat bread? I’m trying to find a recipe that I can use weekly for many years to come. I don’t think I’ve found it yet! Here’s a picture to show the difference between my “recipe” and my good friend’s recipe:

Poor whole wheat bread

Here’s a close-up of the difference in crumb. The one on the left was a much more dense loaf, and more moist… almost tacky in texture. The dough was incredibly hard to work with and I ended up adding much more flour than the recipe called for. The loaf still makes great toast.

Crumb difference

The one on the left is much more light and airy, but it wasn’t dry. The dough was a breeze to work with and this loaf made great sandwich bread. I think perhaps if I was more familiar with the recipe for the loaf on the left, I could have acheived a better result. I know that recipe has made fantastic loaves of bread, so I have to conclude that my technique didn’t suit the recipe. Here’s one more look at the difference between the loaves. The crust browned nicely on the loaf on the right, but on the other loaf, it’s only brown where I rubbed a bit of butter on it. šŸ˜¦

3) Scott has finished another unit for Medical School and now he gets to spend long hours in at his desk in the 2nd bedroom studying the renal system. Let’s all say “kidney failure” together now… šŸ™‚ Amazingly, he is enjoying himself!

To read the breath-taking recap of the exciting events that transpired on Saturday, you’ll have to wait for the next post. Sorry!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hockey, Bread, and Medical School

  1. Kristin says:

    Scotty looks so cute! Oooo!! In other news, the Ohio script is awesome and I’m very glad you two got a break from your business. Also, is one of those loafs from my recipe? If so, I’m sorry it wasn’t everything you’ve dreamed of. Good luck on your hunt for fabulous bread!(P.S. There’s a lot of exclamation marks because I’m so happy to not have class this week!!!!!!!!!!!)

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    business = busyness

    Like

  3. macpeanut says:

    Ok, so one of these times you make your bread you actually have to figure out measurements, because I want the recipe! Your bread looks delicious. What I usually hate about homemade whole wheat bread is how dense it is, yours looks so light and soft! Please teach me your ways oh great one:)!

    Like

  4. Heidi says:

    Quick question, how do you make your dough conditioner?

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

