Happy Birthday Scott Bean!

This past Friday, my fabulous husband turned 26.

We had a really fun day together and I hope he felt loved. πŸ™‚

As often happens in my family, the celebration started early. My brother and sister-in-law gave us tickets back in December to an amazing concert that took place two weeks ago. Not only was the theatre really over-the-top cool, but Scott says he’s never heard a better musical performance in his entire life. We were both swept away and stayed up late that night talking about it and replaying each part in our heads. It was a one-night performance of the Philharmonic of Russia, featuring Olga Kern as the piano soloist.

We took the camera, and I snapped a few pictures before I read on the program that, as I had admittedly suspected, photography was prohibited.

Continuing The Birthday Countdown, my parents gave Scott his present a few weeks in advance and Scott cheated and opened the fabulous (and witty) card & present from his mom a day early. So, I felt the weight of “making his birthday day special” rest squarely on my own shoulders.

I overslept on The Big Day, but luckily so did he. πŸ™‚

While he patiently waited upstairs in bed, dutifully pretending to be asleep… I whipped together his favorite birthday treat: breakfast cake. The rest of the world calls this coffee cake, I think. Our favorite is a cinnamon streusel cake from the Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking cookbook. I toasted and chopped some hazelnuts and added them to the streusel as well.

Side Note: I was embarrassed to discover that I had not really thought through this special birthday breakfast ahead of time. I hadn’t even purchased the necessary sour cream for the breakfast cake. Bad wifey! However, conveniently, Scott, himself, had purchased sour cream a few days earlier. (Did I use enough commas in that sentence? I do want to keep this blog grammatically correct, after all.) Did Scott suspect that I would forget to buy the sour cream myself? Did he secretly want to secure the prospect of a buttery, cinnamon-y breakfast treat on his birthday? I wouldn’t put it past him. Not only is he a smart one, but he is a sucker for breakfast cake and knows it only gets made but once a year!

While the cake was baking, I used two pieces of construction paper to make some snazzy streamers, confetti and a birthday sign. I then artfully arranged a stack of gifties on the table amid the festive construction paper, um, bits. (Is he a lucky guy or what?)

He had received a surprise package from my Aunt and a package from another one of my brothers and sister-in-law, which was great because my gift to him consisted of homemade coupons. Hehehe. Of course he was very appreciative of my meager offerings, but it is always fun to unwrap presents as well!

Following another long-standing family tradition, I also wrapped up some new running shoes we had bought for him earlier that week (badly needed shoes, but still considered special birthday-shoes because they were purchased the same week as his birthday), an extra-special box of cereal he had selected at the grocery store a few days previous (wheat chex, what else?), and some other random things I found in the basement. As I said, it’s always fun to unwrap presents! πŸ™‚

To further celebrate the occasion, we saw a dollar movie at the theatre and he stayed up late playing his favorite computer game. Ahhh we lead such a glamorous life!

Scott Bean on his birthday

Scott agreed to pose with his birthday sign, devoured the cake, noticed the toasted hazelnuts, laughed at the special birthday shoes, and even complimented me on the construction paper streamers. *Sigh* πŸ™‚

He is the best husband, friend, live-in chef, running companion, and birthday boy I could ever imagine. And I still love him, even though he’s 26.

In fact, I love him so much, I let him pose with his birthday sign like a mug shot:

Scott Bean on his birthday

p.s. If you ever come stay at our house, you can admire the periodic table shower curtain Scott received for his birthday. It’s even color-coded so that you can determine which elements are considered metalloids… while you shampoo your hair. Thanks Mark and Meghan! πŸ™‚

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday Scott Bean!

  1. Liz says:

    Yay, Scott! So glad he had a great birthday. Gotta love the periodic table shower curtain-so fitting. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    I can’t wait to see the shower curtain! Jared gave Travis the coolest periodic table tie for his birthday. Hooray for nerd gifts! I’m glad that Scott had a great birthday, complete with toasted hazelnuts. Our present is being shipped today, late of course, and I put your (Anne) birthday gift in it too. However, you’re not allowed to cheat like Scott did and open it before your birthday.

    Like

  3. Meghan says:

    I give credit for the shower curtain to Mark. Granted I reminded him repeatedly of the upcoming birthday, but he is the one who found the great gift:) He’s been really great at that lately, did you know he gave Ben an air-zooka to keep the dogs away at work?

    Anyways, glad Scott’s birthday was so great! Can’t wait to see you, Anne, in a week:)

    Like

  4. Preston Buckley says:

    Scott!!!! Happy Birthday!!! Great to see you doing so well, man. Wish the best for you, your wife and your beautiful baby. Drop a line sometime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

