I believe in God

Here is one of the many reasons why:

The Timeline
Wednesday, March 21st: I planted seeds and watered them nervously

Friday, March 23rd: I watered the seeds again, just in case

Saturday, March 24th: I woke up to this lovely picture, danced around the little nubs with joy and tried to resist the urge to poke them. I had growing things! And so soon!

Sunday, March 25th: I just laid down on the floor next to them and stared in amazement and awe. My little seeds had grown so tall, overnight! New ones that I had never seen before had pushed through that soil and grown several inches already. The first picture in this post shows my hardy zucchini sprouts, only four days after planting the seeds! To think that these glorious fuzzy green stalks came from plain old seeds and some dirt and water is just more than I can comprehend. What a beautiful earth we’ve been given!

I love how different each veggie is. Here’s a shot of our delicate Gardener’s Delight tomatoes, complete with dewy drops on each leaf:

I’m already in love with my little plants! For the curious, we planted the seeds in a little peat moss/plastic hooded haven:

In a totally uncharacteristic move, I resisted the urge to fill up every little peat cup. I took a long, hard look at our narrow little strips of dirt in the backyard, pondered our complete inexperience in the area of gardening, and decided to start off on a small-scale for our first year.

We have a mint plant thriving inside, and that gave me courage to start two peat cups of basil. For the outside garden, we’ve started three varieties of tomato (green grape heirloom, delicious, and gardener’s delight), zucchini, and crookneck squash.

Now in general, I hold to the “Go Big or Go Home” philosophy, particularly when it comes to food. I looked at our tiny little peat cups and almost got out the potting soil and the rest of the seeds when I noticed the encouraging sentiment imprinted on the top of our plastic “humidity” hood:

It was then that I realized even just one little growing green thing is something to be proud of. 🙂

Please excuse me… I’m going upstairs to sing and dance to my “seedies” some more.

p.s. I’ll preemptively say here: No, I haven’t named each sprout. Because Scott won’t let me I’m not that attached to them!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I believe in God

  1. Denise says:

    Hi Anne, It’s Denise. Will you invite me to your next healthy living group. Dave and I are moving towards eating more healthy. I think you should name your plants. They will grow better that way. Gardening is amazing! Good luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

