A tough button to push

Well, I have a confession to make.

It may appear that I have not written much in the last month or so, but as is often the case… appearances can be deceiving!

In fact, I have written 8 posts and they have all gone unpublished. For those of you who don’t have your own blog (Get one! They are free and fun and I’ll come read it and leave comments.)… here’s how it works:

You write a post. And give it a title. Then, you can click one of three buttons: “Save and Continue Editing”, “Save” or “Publish”. Guess which buttons I’ve been pushing.

I initially created this blog so I could keep up with my sister-in-law. She began blogging, posting pictures, etc. as a way to keep in touch. Well, we Beans are not so good at keeping in touch. In fact, we tend to be so lacking in this area that I frequently get The Guilt over it. I often think of my friends from high school, friends from college, friends who are next-door neighbors but who I rarely see because I stay in my hobbit hole working all day, etc. but rarely do I send a “hey how are ya?” email, and even more rarely do I pick up the phone and give them a ring.

Although I consider the blog a bit of a cop-out, it’s better than nothing. And I was doing nothing. 🙂

That brings me to the dilemma. Up until recently, I’ve just posted our comings and goings. Nothing too controversial or personal. But those 8 posts I have “saved” away, have been mainly musings. I’m not coming or going, I’m just thinking about stuff.

Now, I have been surprised at how many people actually read this blog (there are now more readers than the number of people in my immediate family. Perplexing…) . I think most people dropping by just like to check in once and a while and make sure the Beans are still alive and kickin’. They don’t want to read my opinion on world events, the downfall of the American diet, recent movies, etc. And yet, that’s all I’ve been writing about lately. And once I write a post, published or not, I’m all written out.

What to do… what to do. Maybe a compromise is in order. I’ll commit to writing one post a week about what we’re up to. No more slacking! From time to time I’ll throw in some in-between posts about what’s going through my mind and actually push the “publish” button. But you have to promise that, friend or not, family or not, you understand you can absolutely skip those in-between posts ramblings without any guilt whatsoever. Deal?

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Nothing but random. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A tough button to push

  1. Kristin says:

    I happen to know that you are a chronic analyzer/thinker, which would make it impossible for you to have “musings”. I’m sure your unpublished posts were more like a “critical analysis” than a “musing”, which is why I want you to publish them. All of them. Right this very minute. I think there’s nothing more uplifting that sharing knowledge/educated opinions/experiences, especially with a community of people who care about what you have to say.
    T and I miss being able to discuss hot topics with you guys because you have worthwhile, intelligent things to say. (Something we’ve found lacking in most other couples our age) Don’t to ashamed of that. Your thoughts can be a catalyst for positive changes.
    Publish! Publish! Publish!

    Like

  2. macpeanut says:

    I vote with Kristin that you publish. I would love to read your musings. I also look forward to seeing if you can keep up with the post-a-week commitment, it’s harder than it sounds!

    Like

  3. lisa h. says:

    Yes, I agree! I love to hear all your thoughts and ideas…so you can publish whatever, it won’t scare any readers away!

    Like

  4. Liz says:

    You should publish your musings. Who cares if they aren’t polished yet… 🙂

    Like

  5. melanie says:

    Well – I think you should keep all your unpublished thoughts to yourself. What if someone else were to take all your ideas and make millions of dollars off of them, or what if someone didn’t like your ideas, or what if Kristin said she actually had the same thought before, but had moved past it (it’s always like her to try to one-up everyone, the little hussy) She always thinks everything is really about her. Now if you would like to send your musings to me, I would be happy to review them for you, just to make sure they were ‘worthy’ of publishing.
    btw, itk

    Like

Leave a Reply

