Three Great Reads

I’ve been reading a lot lately, what with the new Harry Potter book coming out soon and a significant amount of time spent sick on the couch in the last few months. Here are a few of the books I found really worthwhile.

The Omnivore’s Dilemma

First, a fantastic book about food. It is particularly about what Americans eat, why, and my personal favorite: where it comes from. This journalist (who is an omnivore as the title of the book implies) set out to investigate industrial farming, organic farming, and sustainable farming, and made some fascinating discoveries. This book tells you how “free” free-range chickens really are, why America is obsessed with fast food, the downside to shopping at Whole Foods Market, and what is actually IN a chicken nugget (I’ll save you the suspense: mostly corn. Corn syrup, corn starch, corn meal, etc.) .

To be fair, it’s not a fast read, but it’s a worthwhile read. I thought it was really enlightening without being alarmist or extreme. I can’t recommend it enough.

Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner

This book is so entertaining I can hardly stand it. It’s fast and fun and it helps that the author has a really cool story to tell (about himself and how he became a crazy runner and why he loves it).

Read it and you’ll find out about his marathon at the south pole, his run through death valley in the dead of summer, and how he orders pizza to be delivered to “the guy running alongside the expressway at 2am”.

Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die

Now this is one of the many books that have randomly shown up on my doorstep from time to time. My dad loves having Amazon deliver books to “Anne McBean” to surprise me. 🙂

It’s actually a marketing book that he wanted me to read for work, but it was such a compelling concept that I was hooked immediately. The examples the authors use to show why we remember certain tag lines, commercials, and stories, and why 99% of them go in one ear and out the other were almost eerie. I felt like they were inside my head. In a good way, though. Read it and prepare to be surprised!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Nothing but random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Great Reads

  1. lisa h. says:

    they all sound good…i’ll put them on my list of things to read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

