Marriage, and all that entails

Scott woke up bolt-upright in bed Friday night. Alarmed, I ask him if everything was ok.

“I’m not sure,” he said. And, without further explanation, he got out of bed, walked into the bathroom, turned the light on, closed the door, and I heard the sink water running.

Puzzled, but too groggy to investigate further, I patiently waited for him to return.

He did, after only a minute or two in the bathroom. Again, I asked him if everything was ok.

His reply?

“Yeah, sorry. I thought my eyeball had exploded.”

And with that, we both went back to sleep.

The next morning, he explained quite logically that he had DREAMED his eyeball exploded, awoken with the sensation of blood on his hands and calmly walked to the bathroom to wash the blood off.

Dear Husband,

If ever again you think your eyeball may have exploded, please let me know. Washing the blood off your hands is probably not the highest priority in a situation like that. Plus, I love you enough to look at you at three in the morning and reassure you with a straight face that both eyes are as they should be. It would at least save you a trip to the bathroom.

Love,
Your wife Anne

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marriage, and all that entails

  1. macpeanut says:

    SOOOOO funny!

    This makes me chuckle because it sounds like something Mark would do. On numerous occasions when Mark has woken up from a deep sleep he tries to tell me something or have a conversation with me, and he makes absolutely no sense at all. He will be talking in complete gibberish, but looks totally awake and coherent. It’s very hard for me to keep a straight face, but if I crack and laugh, or patronize him with silly answers to his absurd questions he gets huffy and storms off, usually back to bed. Where he immediately falls back asleep and remembers nothing at all in the morning. He doesn’t even believe me usually when I tell him about it:). Don’t we have funny hubbys?

    P.S. I’m quite glad Scott’s eyeball did not, in fact, explode.

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    These dreams sound all too familiar… Except mine usually involve a child that’s fallen off the bed, choked on an electric cord or been kidnapped. You may find sympathy from Don – who’s also privy to these awkward night awakenings. 😉

    Like

  3. jessica says:

    I’ll have to tell Nate about that one!

    Like

  4. annapackard says:

    That was a laugh-out-loud blog! Gotta luv the fuzzy boundaries between dreams and reality! Poor Scott!

    Like

  5. Denise says:

    Hi Anne! This was a great story! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Anne, you were the winner of my Dog Days of Summer Giveaway! E-mail me your address and I will send you your notecards and chocolate! I hope you like them!

    My e-mail is Frugal.Homemaker.Plus@gmail.com

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

