Pregnancy update

There’s a bit of a belly pic in my post about the pumpkin patch, so I thought it was high-time for an update.

First of all, the baby appears to be healthy and BIG as well as big headed. The u/s showed her as being 3 lb 3 oz at my 28w5d check-up. Woah, so um, a couple weeks ahead size-wise. By the time you factor in that her head is a couple weeks ahead of the rest of her… she’s practically full-term! Hehehe.

WARNING: The rest of this post may contain words like “placenta” and “uterus”. There’s really no nickname for those organs, so let’s just press on, shall we?

The u/s (both kinds) also showed no placenta previa. They showed that my placenta was on the front wall and the back wall of the uterus, which is very confusing. After several scans and much debate between the u/s tech and my doctor, they don’t know where exactly my placenta is. However, the important thing (apparently) is that at one point my baby’s head was right over the cervix. So by process of elimination, the placenta is not over the cervix. Whoop! That big head is already coming in handy. šŸ˜‰

I am not iron-deficient. Apparently the veggies and legumes are doing their thang.

Migraines are much less frequent now, though unfortunately I woke up with one this morning and have had lingering headache/nausea all day. šŸ˜¦

New aches and pains: A completely numb-to-the-touch-but-surprisingly-painful swath of skin on top of my belly has made an appearance. It feels like burning. All the time. No stretch marks there yet, but it’s like I can feel the impending doom. And it hurts.

Also, between the sides of my rib cage I’ve had this awful ripping pain underneath the surface of my skin. The doctor says it’s my abdominal muscles separating. Um, hmm ok. I guess it could be worse?

The baby is moving and kicking pretty much all day and night and Scott loves to feel her. Even when she’s still, you can tell where she is because my belly is lopsided and you can feel certain parts of it are nobbier than others (ooh! Is that her knee?).

I love hearing her heart beating at each appointment, and it more than compensates for the whole peeing-in-a-cup thing.

Recently, several of my friends have announced they are newly pregnant. It reminds me of when I was engaged to Scott and so darned happy I wanted everyone I knew to get engaged so they could be so happy, too. I see my friends glowing with anticipation and it’s so fun to welcome them into the pregnant club. (Nevermind that several of them have a couple of kids already… this time I’ve been in the club longer. šŸ™‚ )

Finally, in just four short days, I will have a new niece! My third sister-in-law this year will be welcoming the third granddaughter this year into the family on Tuesday. Woo! I’ll be the last hold-out among the pregnant ladies in the family and then the count-down really begins.

Oh, almost forgot. I’m 31 1/2 weeks pregnant now.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

