Mmm… Wassailberry

Some new flavor combinations are born out of necessity, others out of creativity or experimentation. Some combinations should never have been born at all (haggis, anyone?) and others make you wonder how something so perfect had eluded mankind for so long. Tomato and basil, banana and oatmeal, black beans and brown rice… the list is star-studded and long.

This, is a story of how my dear husband birthed a genius and delicious flavor combination out of sheer coincidence.

The Backstory

Beans love apple cider. The kind that is actually just real apple juice squeezed out of fresh apples… not the kind that comes granulated and in little packets that you add to hot water to make some sort of an apple-esque abomination beverage.

We aren’t big juice drinkers, because we tend to just throw whole fruits in the vitamix with veggies and some frozen berries to make smoothies instead. However, in the fall you will seldom find our fridge without a gallon of apple cider gracing its shelves.

A Twist

Yesterday, I went to an “enrichment” meeting for my church. These are fantastic because they are excuses for women to get together to chat under the guise of doing crafts. 🙂

Many women would also say they like these meetings because of the munchies. Not I, because I seldom find something that interests me. The spreads usually consist of bagels and cream cheese, cookies and punch. Well, yesterday I was thrilled to see a bowl of fresh fruit and piping hot wassail. <– This is apple cider + oj + spices like cinnamon and cloves. I drank a few glasses with gusto.

After a lovely morning of chatting crafting, I stayed to help clean up. Fortunately for me, there was extra wassail and a kind soul (who undoubtedly noticed me going down on it earlier) poured some into an empty gallon cider jug. I toted it home and stashed it in the fridge.

A Star is Born

As I was getting ready for church this morning, I heard the familiar “zzzzzt” of the Vitamix going downstairs. It was followed closely by an exclamation “What the…” .

Apparently Scott hadn’t noticed the second jug of “cider” in the fridge and had inadvertently used spicy wassail as the base for his bananaberry smoothie.

One taste and I was hooked.

It might not be the next peanut butter and jelly, but I highly recommend adding a little wassail to your berry! 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mmm… Wassailberry

  1. You’ve been tagged. If you don’t know what I mean by that (because I didn’t) go to: http://scottandlonica.com/blog/?p=77. Look forward to hearing what you have to say…

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    That does sound good. I love smoothies…definitely need to try that one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

