Photos from Maui

As I mentioned, Scott and I went with my parents to Maui for a week and had a fabulous time.

We sprinkled my grandmother’s ashes in the ocean from an outrigger canoe, had some great sushi, and snorkeled nearly every day. There’s a putting green at Napili Kai, where my Grandma had a condo, and great puzzles in the lobby. We barbecued fish and pineapple on the beach several nights and we also hiked to lots of “secret” waterfalls that Scott and I had discovered while exploring our last time on the island. That’s the Reader’s Digest version.

Now for the photos.

I was a bit self-conscious about my maternity tankini, but hey, everyone looks good in a snorkel mask anyway… right? πŸ˜‰

Did you just laugh a little? That’s ok, I do too when I see that photo.

In case you didn’t, here’s a photo of me in the tankini while sporting my mom’s stylin’ banana belt:

For the record, she is not a huge water fan but was very brave and gave snorkeling a try. We had a hard time getting her out of the water after she had her first look at a sea turtle up close! πŸ™‚

Let’s see… here’s my favorite one of me and Scott:

Right at the moment Scott whisked me off my feet (very impressive considering my unwieldy shape these days), I was feeling a bit self-conscious and he whispered into my ear how beautiful I was. This photo reminds me he loves me no matter what.

So, I ignore the unflattering pose, the muddy legs, and crazy hair and instead look at the smile on Scott’s face as he’s holding a very pregnant, muddy, crazy Anne. πŸ™‚

The view from our patio at the condo (can’t you just feel the warm breeze?) :

My dad is almost always the picture taker, but sometimes I snag his camera so I can catch him in a fun pose:

That was at the Iao Valley needle, after we ducked under the railing and hiked on a forbidden path for about an hour. Pretty cool view and yummy strawberry guavas to eat along the way.

This was taken with my dad’s iPhone. We showed my parents one of our favorite hidden waterfalls, which is a short hike from a rocky beach in East Maui. My dad decided the best thing to do was to climb up the slippery rocks to take a dip near the top of the waterfall. This is his face when he realized getting down would be tricky:

I told my mom I was worried Dad was stuck, and without missing a beat she responded, “Well, he got himself up there and he’s going to have to get himself down.”

Spoken by a true mother of three accident-prone boys and a wife to an adventure-loving husband. πŸ™‚

Here’s one of Scott sitting in the clouds on Haleakala:

And I’ll end this post with a profound thought. Nope, wait… just another photo of Anne in snorkel gear:

Those are the highlights of the trip, and everything exciting that happened.

Really.

Well, ExceptForTheTimeMyTankiniCameCompletelyUntiedWhileSnorkeling. But we don’t talk about that.

Or the fact that after desperately signaling Scott for assistance, he stuck his mask under the water and came up laughing so hard it took him several full minutes to tie it back on properly.

And we DEFINITELY don’t mention the fact that maternity tankinis are really a farce because as soon as you’re in the water, the part that is supposed to cover your belly gets all floaty anyway, and if everyone is face-down in the water looking at the fishies, they are going to get an eyeful of pregnant belly as well. A-hem.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photos from Maui

  1. How fun! I knew you guys would have a great time – Don and I love Maui.

    Assuming your parents keep the condo, I think in a couple of years we should have a MacAskill family vacation there with all the cousins!

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    anne i cannot believe that happened to your swimsuit! what a great story to tell that baby girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

