So lucky

Scott and I really felt strongly that Columbus was where we needed to be for medical school, but I wasn’t sure I’d actually like it all that much. I thought of it as being “doable” for 4 years and then we’d move on to someplace we enjoyed.

Well, I was totally wrong. I love it here!

I was getting my haircut today (a once in a blue moon occurrence) and the “stylist” was griping about the weather here and I realized I don’t mind it a bit. Not that it doesn’t get pretty humid, and grey, and windy, and pretty cold and pretty hot… ok so maybe the weather isn’t all that great after all… but my point is:

Who cares about weather when the people here are so fantastic!

I’m continually blown away by the caliber of people I’ve met in Columbus. I often feel that they are 10x better friends to me than I am to them, but what’s a girl to do? Just enjoy it and try and reciprocate the kindness when I can. πŸ™‚

Maybe (just maybe) it’s because I’m pregnant and my emotions tend to be close to the surface these days, but I was thinking tonight about how blessed Scott and I have been with good friends… and I couldn’t help but get teary-eyed.

I have every opportunity to be a hermit, what with working from home and having Scott studying from home most of the time, and I realize now that my connection with the real world is through my girl friends. We chat about everything from pregnancy to politics (ok well not often politics, actually) and I always come away with a smile on my face.

Here’s a little something to put a smile on your face:

http://cmac.smugmug.com/gallery/3801270#219476586-A-LB

SmugMug now has great video support, so my family has been adding home movies like crazy. I thought that one was particularly good because about halfway through, it shows how my taste in foods have changed. πŸ™‚

Note to self: Acquire video camera so I can take embarrassing video of Baby Bean.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So lucky

  1. Maya says:

    Hey do you guys have plans to watch the game on Sat.? If not and you want some, give me a call or email; we’re having a little get-together. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. lisa h. says:

    you are a cute kid!! just plain peanut butter huh! i’ll have to work on posting some videos too.

    Like

  3. manwaringfam says:

    So I am glad that you blogged about Ohio. Jotham just had an interview there for residency. He liked it alot. He has a few more places to interview, but as of right now it is in his top 3! Who knows, maybe I will be a Columbus girl too! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

