Snow Days = Cooking Days

Yesterday was a beautiful snowy day.

When it finally stopped, our street looked pretty picturesque.

Of course, that is the view on our front porch to the LEFT. If you look to the right, you get the gas station and donut shop. Though the snow did improve their appearance somewhat, I’d still classify them as a far cry from picturesque. πŸ˜‰

We ran some errands (driving carefully, don’t worry) and we took some back roads to avoid traffic and to enjoy the snow-covered houses gorgeous estates that line the river. As we were creeping along in the warm car, enjoying each other’s company, we were struck with how fleeting this time of our lives will be. As my belly gets bigger, we’re realizing that our lazy afternoons alone together are numbered. Of course we’re very excited to welcome this baby girl into our lives, but we are definitely trying to make the most of the days (hours? weeks?) we have left before she arrives.

Last night was our church Christmas party, and we brought a FABULOUS salad to share and Scott did a great job singing with his men’s quartet. Well, actually Scott made the salad pretty much without my help. And at the party, I pretty much sat at the table in my own little world, trying my best to respond coherently to friends who stopped by the table to see how I was doing. I really and truly feel good and I’m still enjoying pregnancy, but man, I can be a space-case these days. If I don’t make a concerted effort to be otherwise, I end up being a lump on a log more often than not! πŸ™‚

This is the salad we brought:

It’s a spinach salad with a brown sugar and balsamic dressing. We topped it with red pear, pecans, red onions, pomegranate seeds, and orange zest. The bowl was pretty much licked clean, so I’d be tempted to think it was a hit. To be fair, however, pretty much every dish on the table was spotless by the end of the night. πŸ™‚

Today, Scott made a mushroom and caramelized onion soup and topped it with goat cheese sourdough crostata:

As much as I’d like to tell you more about the soup… I fear doing so would make me ill. I’m not a big mushroom fan, so I’m glad that Scott enjoys cooking and doesn’t mind making his own dinners sometimes! And yes, I was in “lump on a log” mode again so he made my dinner as well. No photo but it has quickly become one of my all-time favorite meals: Brussel Sprout and Pine Nut Pasta .

I know what you’re thinking, but you really have to taste this to believe it. I always thought I hated brussel sprouts, but let me tell you: This is SO delicious and the recipe couldn’t be simpler. The brussel sprouts just get sliced thinly in our food processor so prep work is non-existent. We use whole wheat rotelle pasta instead of egg noodles, and I try and talk Scott into leaving out the butter. Whether he actually does or not, I’m not quite sure because my “log” is too far away from the kitchen to see the chef in action.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

