Playing with a new camera

My (fabulous) dad “accidentally” left a really nice camera out here in Columbus when he visited. 🙂

I’m more than a bit intimidated by all the bells and whistles, and the pressure to get good shots of Mackenzie, but I jumped in and took some photos yesterday. Here are a few of them:

There will be many more where those came from and hopefully they’ll get better and better.

I’m off to read the camera’s manual. Wish me luck!

Oh, and will someone PLEASE tell Mackenzie’s mom that all these pictures of her with socks on her hands are sorta embarrassing? Thanks.

UPDATE

The manual was super helpful, even though I haven’t waded through all of its 244 pages quite yet. Here’s a photo I took after fiddling with the camera settings a bit:

Now to do something about those sock hands… 😉

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Playing with a new camera

  1. I know I’m not a mom, but what are the socks all about? Does she scratch her precious face? Awesome camera. Good luck with it!

    Like

  2. beanland says:

    Yeah so… newborns have fingernails that are super soft and hard to clip without cutting any skin. But, they are sharp enough to scratch their faces.

    Mackenzie loves having her hands up near her face and she’s always rubbing her hands on her cheeks. I have clipped a few of her fingernails, but there are a few that were trickier and I chickened out. Most of her newborn outfits have “mitten hands”, but she’s already growing out of those so I just put some socks on until I get around to clipping the rest of her nails. 🙂

    Like

  3. lisa h. says:

    when you master the art of photography (as well as motherhood) i’d like a lesson!

    Like

  4. macpeanut says:

    Anne-

    A tip for cutting the lil finger nails-try running your nail under their finger nail before cutting. It helps separate the nail from the skin and it makes the part you need to cut more visible:)

    The pics are looking good Anne. Believe me, it’s taken me YEARS to get comfortable with the fancy camera, don’t expect to know how to use all the bells and whistles in a few days. You’re already snapping some great shots!

    -Meg

    Like

  5. Jessica says:

    I think the socks are great! I used socks for “mittens” for Jansen even last winter when he was like 15 months! She’s such a doll.

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    I have so many pictures of Grace with socks on her hands! She sure is beautiful, but I haven’t seen her in a smugmug t-shirt yet. I just can’t believe you don’t have one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

