Curried Potatoes with Spinach *Updated*

One of my favorite things about really good recipes is that they introduce me to foods I might not normally eat. I’ve blogged previously about brussel sprout pasta and what a miracle it is that it made brussel sprouts a part of my diet. This recipe falls under the same category.

I HATE(ed) cooked green leafy veggies. I taught myself to like fresh spinach in the last several years, so I would just eat my leafy greens in the form of a salad and avoid all recipes that involved cooked greens. But, I decided to be brave this last week and I was not disappointed. This recipe is yummy and even yummier as leftovers and it does NOT taste like cooked greens. Even though I doubled the amount of spinach the recipe called for. Go me! πŸ™‚

The recipe originally came from this cookbook, but I modified it so much I don’t mind posting my version here.

1 scant TBS canola oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced (or 2 small red onions)
1 large rib celery, sliced
2 tsp minced fresh ginger root (if you have it, I didn’t)
1 15 oz can diced tomatoes (can use fresh)
1 TBS curry powder (we use the hot curry powder from our favorite spice shop)
1 tsp garam masala (can use ground coriander in a pinch)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cayenne
4 cups water
3+ cups diced red potatoes, skins on
2 medium carrots, diced
6+ cups coarsely chopped spinach (I probably used close to 8 )

Serve over 4 cups cooked brown rice, or even better… quinoa! I put some quinoa in my rice cooker with veggie broth with the same proportions as you’d make white rice (if you’d ever do such a thing πŸ™‚ ). Yum.

In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion, celery, and ginger and cook for about 4 minutes. Add tomato, curry powder, garam masala, salt and cayenne and cook for 3 minutes over low heat.

Add water, potatoes and carrots and cook for 15 minutes over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Stir in spinach and cook until the potatoes are tender, 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and let stand for about 5 minutes.

Serve by ladling over brown rice or quinoa.

UPDATED TO ADD: Celery to the list of ingredients. Yikes! How could I forget the celery! πŸ™‚

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Curried Potatoes with Spinach *Updated*

  1. Mmm! I love new veggie recipes!! Question, is it spicy? Kids aren’t into spicy these days. (poor Don)

    Like

  2. beanland says:

    Very spicy, I should have mentioned that. If you use sweet curry powder instead of hot curry powder, I imagine it would be a lot less spicy though!

    Like

  3. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    i’m going to make this tonight…i’m on a bean recipe kick!

    Like

Leave a Reply

