Poo notwithstanding…

Ordinarily, I would not start a post title with That Word. But I spent a significant amount of time (yes, more than a full minute) trying to come up a title without it and I could not. This post is just about poo. Well, poo and parenting.

Until I became a parent, I didn’t realize how those two things related. Now I know that, at least during this stage of parenting, they are inextricably linked.

And so our story begins.

Nighttimes are going very well for us, all things considered. But they invariably go better for Scott because he is not the one waking up at odd hours and trying to fumble in the dark to feed a ravenous Mackenzie. ๐Ÿ™‚

So when there’s a rough night and Mackenzie doesn’t sleep quite as long of a stretch as we’d like, I am toast in the morning. Actually, our bed is more like the toast and I am more like the jam you spread on toast. I try and scrape myself out of bed and be a mom in the morning but I just feel so crumby. Ha! (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

Anyway, normally I get up and start breakfast. Then,I put Mackenzie on Scott’s chest to wake him up, and I straighten up the house while breakfast is cooking and Scott is showering. We read our scriptures together, eat breakfast, and then Scott begins his day of studying.

Earlier this week Mackenzie had a Very Bad Night. My sweet husband told me to stay in bed “just for a bit” and he’d take her while I slept a few more minutes. A full hour and a half later, I woke up and was a new woman. I came downstairs to find Mackenzie wrapped in a blanket. She was sitting in her chair watching her daddy whip up a smoothie for breakfast.

I thanked him profusely and said I’d take over Mackenzie duty. Before Scott went upstairs to shower, he kissed Mackenzie as she sat in her little chair and he looked up at me a bit mischievously.

“Oh, by the way… she MAY have pooped a little while ago.” (Little smile.)

“And you didn’t change her?!” I replied, concerned.

I knew Scott wasn’t a huge fan of poopy diapers, and I honestly don’t mind changing them at all. Still, though, I didn’t think he’d knowingly let her sit in her poop for any length of time. In addition, I knew something he didn’t: she hadn’t pooped in day and a half.

His face fell just a bit and he said, “Well, I’m not positive it was poo… it could have just been gas.” “Besides,” he continued, a bit less sure of himself now, “She would have cried if it was very much poo… right?”

He was absolutely correct, or so I thought at the time. She typically throws a fit when she has a dirty diaper (as would I, quite frankly). But on that morning, Mackenzie was sitting there, content as can be, just watching her daddy make breakfast. I smiled at Scott to reassure him he did a good job on dad duty.

And then I lifted up the blanket that was covering her.

She had pooped with such volume and intensity that there was poo in her armpit.

I wish I was kidding.

She was wearing darling fleece-lined jeans and you might have thought that those jeans would have contained what the diaper could not. Nope. From the looks of things, after her diaper (and pants) had filled with poop… she had peed.

Scott and I were both so shocked to discover this, that our jaws just dropped. And then it dawned on Scott. He had let his daughter repose in nasty for who-knows-how-long. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him look so devastated.

As I gathered our sweet, drenched daughter up and whisked her upstairs to be bathed hosed down… Scott stayed right by her side, apologizing to her and kissing her (on her face, which was miraculously poo-free). He drew the bath for her, obsessing about getting it the right temperature. Although baths are usually my department, he kept hovering as I put her in the tub and he tenderly held her head so I could make sure we got every part of her clean.

I pulled her out of the tub into a dry hooded towel. She was, as before, content as can be. But I looked over at Scott and his expression was still pained. So I handed our toweled, clean, and damp daughter over to him for a snuggle. Only when he held her himself and saw that she truly was ok did he relax.

If I had any doubts about whether Scott would be an excellent father to our children, putting their needs above his own, and wrapping up his happiness in theirs… those doubts are now gone. His reaction to his innocent mistake was just priceless.

Poo notwithstanding… he is a fantastic husband and father. ๐Ÿ™‚

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Poo notwithstanding…

  1. awalkabout says:

    Funny what methods fate uses to show us these lessons, hmm? You’re a lucky woman.

    Like

  2. Meghan says:

    Hehehe. I am sitting here laughing out loud.

    It seems this happens to all of us at some point or another- the moment when we see our husbands become the daddies we always dreamed they would be. It’s such an awesome feeling!

    The poo thing happens to us all at one point or another as well, or have you not heard about the Sophie “onsie incident”? Reese also had a poopie explosion happen on more than one occasion. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to avoid. So rest easy Scott, you are in no way to blame. Besides, the diapers don’t stink as bad when they are still so little so it’s hard to know.

    Like

  3. Liz says:

    Ahh yes. The poo explosions. I know them well. Don and I both laughed as we read the post. Very nicely written. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Hey Anne! As I was checking out smugmug {I think I’m finally going to smart up, join, and put my pictures on your families awesome idea} I saw your blog and couldn’t resist peeking at it. And found this first, Poop Post… it totally made me laugh and think of a post that I made labeled “All Things Poop” (http://texashatch.blogspot.com/2007/04/all-things-poop.html).

    So I just wanted to say, I TOTALLY understand and can relate to what those babies can do with all their poop… and how intertwined parenting and poop are….

    Oh, and to say HI!
    Your forever ago neighbor…

    Like

  5. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    oh whoa! i died reading that….”I knew something he didnโ€™t: she hadnโ€™t pooped in day and a half.”

    i’m glad she got a bath and could be clean again. i remember when it dawned on me that i would be changing evan’s diaper for like years….3 to be exact…and i was like why didn’t anyone mention this to me?

    Like

  6. Aunt Robin says:

    Thanks for the laugh, Anne. Your Uncle Jim would have loved that post.

    I feel as though I’ve only met Scott for about 5 minutes, and I had no doubt whatsoever that he’d be a good husband & father. I wondered about that a bit. Then I realized that old fogeys have had more time in which to observe those characters that do *not* make good husbands and dads. They’re not the kind to make superb lemon desserts on special occasions. They’re more the kind that ask the wife to bring a cup of coffee upstairs after she’s been up all night in labor, with bronchitis. That’s my story & I’m sticking to it.

    Like

  7. Great story! I’m sure you’re both great parents…

    Like

  8. Jessica says:

    Did you see any of my posts about Natalie’s explosions??? They were crazy! One time it was on the back tag of her shirt! Way to go Mackenzie!

    Like

  9. Lori Walker says:

    Thanks for the giggle! How well I remember all the variations on a poopy diaper. (Down the legs, up the back, out the diaper, etc.) Poor Scott. At least he was sufficiently humbled and repentant.

    Now just wait until they are big enough to BARF!

    Like

  10. NancyJones says:

    Isn’t parenting terrific?? Poop, and all, Spence and I jest LOVE it!

    Like

  11. Peyton's Mom says:

    I can’t believe I sat so riveted to a post about poo, but I did! (And enjoyed it!) ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

  12. aims says:

    I almost felt like I had children myself with this post. But – since I don’t – well….

    By the sounds of it – I’m not missing out on changing diapers…A good smile for the day! and all the best for everything in the future..

    Like

Leave a Reply

