Don’t wake the baby!

Scott and I took Mackenzie on a short car trip the other day. With the frequency I get out of the house lately, that in and of itself would merit a blog post. But wait, there’s more. 🙂

As we walked out the door, I called out to Scott, asking him to grab my iPhone. I told him it should be by the couch.

It wasn’t, so I shrugged and we grabbed the car seat with Mackenzie snugly ensconced inside and we left.

An hour later, we returned. We let Mackenzie stay asleep in her car seat and Scott and I chatted for a while on the couch.

It occurred to me that I still hadn’t seen my phone anywhere, and I thought it probably had fallen down into one of our couches. So, I asked Scott to call it from his phone. Don’t laugh, you know you’ve done this before. (As an aside, I wish you could call car keys, your other shoe, that match to your cute Christmas sock, and many other easily-lost items. But alas, it’s only cell phones that make themselves known so easily.)

He dialed my phone and sure enough, his signature ringtone and the sound of my phone vibrating could be heard faintly. We both froze and carefully looked around the room.

Which couch was it coming from?

He redialed.

We walked quietly around the room, our ears craning. It wasn’t coming from either couch. Odd… but it sounds so muffled!

And then it dawned on me.

“Turn it off, turn it off!” I whispered urgently.

Scott obliged, and I pointed sheepishly to the location of the phone:

When we had been getting ready to go, I had foolishly tossed my phone in the car seat, so that I’d remember to bring it. Um, let’s get a closeup on the peaceful scene that was nearly disturbed by the sound of “Bad to the Bone” (Scott’s ringtone):

It’s a very good thing she’s a champion sleeper! As it is, she just got a nice vibrating massage for her nap. 😉

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t wake the baby!

  1. Liz says:

    Hehe. That’s great. I miss the days when A would nap in her car seat – enjoy them. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

