Yesterday

Yesterday, I ate more cold cereal than vegetables.

Yesterday, I did not exercise.

Yesterday, I didn’t even step foot out of my house except for maybe to chuck a diaper in the outside trash.

That’s probably a good thing because yesterday I did not shower.

Yesterday, I did a load of laundry and worked every minute I could manage, but I ended up further behind in both areas than I was when I started the day.

Yesterday, Scott came home to a wailing baby who had her own booger stuck to her ear.*

Yesterday, instead of sending Scott back to campus with a warm dinner in his belly, I handed him a banana and a date nut bar.

Yesterday, I started the day in an over-sized sweatshirt and jeans and ended the day in an over-sized sweatshirt and jeans covered in spit-up and damp with baby tears.

Yesterday, Mackenzie was sick.** She was miserable when I held her, but completely fell apart if I didn’t.

Yesterday, I ran my cool hands over my baby’s hot, sticky forehead over and over again to help her fall asleep. But she only managed one short nap, all day long.

Yesterday, I sang my baby lullabies while she coughed and whimpered in her hoarse little voice and spit up all over both of us.

And yesterday, approximately five minutes after she fell asleep for the night in her crib, completely worn out and breathing noisily in and out… I already missed her.

Motherhood is a trip.

My sick (and sweet) baby girl:

*Don’t ask.
**The Grandma Update: She’s still sick but today was better than yesterday and we both bathed so things are looking up! 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in I am a mother, Life as we know it, Tough Days. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yesterday

  1. macpeanut says:

    Doesn’t it seem like the whole world is crumbling around you when your baby is sick? Reese has been sick twice, and both times it took FOREVER for her to get better. 2 weeks the first time, then she was better for 2 weeks then sick again for 2 1/2 weeks. Rough. I had so many days like the one you just described.

    I’m so sorry that little Mac has been sick. Hopefully things get better, not worse from here.

    Like

  2. Amen.

    Motherhood, for me, is the most challenging, but also the most exhilarating and fulfilling experience of my life.

    I’m sorry she was sick. When they get sick everything falls to pieces. It’s expected. Soon, she’ll be back to normal and you’ll be back at perfecting multi-tasking. 😉 We’ll keep her (and you :)) in our prayers.

    Have a wonderful birthday tomorrow!

    Like

  3. Robin MacAskill says:

    Dear MacKenzie,
    Sending you best wishes for the speediest of all possible recoveries. I expect your mom would love that birthday gift!

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday Anne! I was going to say so at church and then I got too wrapped up in your swaping shirts story to remember. Sorry about that (both the shirt and forgetting your b-day). Hope you have a good one and Mackenzie gets better soon!

    Like

  5. Jeannette Bowen says:

    Plus, on top of that you prepared a great Sacrament Meeting talk! You are amazing!

    Jeannette

    Like

  6. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    i’m so sorry she was sick and it was a rough day! it’s so sad when babies are not feeling well. you both gave great talks today!

    Like

  7. Maya says:

    Happy birthday, Anne! I hope you are all feeling better today 🙂

    Like

  8. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    happy birthday! did you get to do something fun?

    Like

  9. beanland says:

    Thanks for all the well-wishes. Mackenzie is still throwing up quite a bit, but she’s also eating like a champ and sleeping just fine at night. So it’s mainly just business as usual with the exception of lots more laundry and lots fewer naps. 🙂

    I had a great birthday and perhaps the best part is that Mackenzie and I now have matching outfits. Photos to come if I can bring myself to take them and then post them. That remains to be seen. Hehe.

    -Anne

    Like

  10. Jessica says:

    Those can be LONG days. I’m real sorry to hear about it. And listen, Sunday was NO BIG DEAL at all. No need for any more thank yous…I’m so glad it all worked out!!!

    Like

  11. *Meg Larsen* says:

    Anne and Scott! Some of my favorite chemistry people! So I stumbled on your blog through the Smolniks and so I offer my belated congrats on your sweet baby!

    Amen to your post–our little boy is 8 months and I’ve spent many a day (or more–yikes!) just like that. It’s a trip, that’s for sure, but it’s soo worth it!

    I’d love to hear from you!

    Like

  12. Jenny (vest) hatch says:

    That is the cutest, sweetest, and most rawly accurate post about what a day in the life of a mother could be like. Thanks for putting it into words for us all! Hope she gets better soon! It’s so sad to see your babies sick. There is no way that such yucky boogers and such nasty spit up should come out of something so sweet!! It just shouldn’t happen!

    Like

  13. Debbers says:

    How authentic and poignant. I almost miss those miserable, exhausting, precious days. Thank you for being so transparent, Anne. What a wonderful mom you are!

    Like

  14. Jenny Smolnik says:

    Hey, Anne! I’m so glad that I get to see how you and Scott are doing, and that you found our blog. It’s in its infancy, and Carric is not crazy about having it open to the world. So we are going to make it private for him. But I want to make sure that you and Scott can see it whenever you want. I have Scott’s email, so I am sending the invitation to him. But you are both so welcome to look anytime. we miss you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

