A Wee Seussy One

We frequently refer to Mackenzie as our “Wee One”. Sometimes she just gets this wide-eyed expression on her face, that is just so “wee” that it can’t be described any other way.

I love love waking her up in the morning. The other day, I caught her sleepiness on camera:

A particularly “wee” look:

We swaddle her arms at night, and let her legs go free. Good thing, too, because her Seussy little feet in the “feetie jams” are pretty darn cute:

As I watched, she even crossed her legs:

sneetch with a star and seussy feet

We’ve been reading a Dr. Seuss book to Mackenzie every day (at least every day that I remember). She’s becoming quite proficient on the story lines, characters, etc. 😉 I grew up with Dr. Seuss myself and I love sharing this tradition with Mackenzie.

I keep stumbling across lines that are so good they must be shared. So I took one bit of each Seuss story that we own, and I decided to give my blog readers a test. Probably only my family will find it enjoyable, but maybe there are other Seuss fans out there as well?

The Rules

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to name that Dr. Seuss story. We’ll start with the Easy Quiz. It includes the 23 most well-known (in my opinion) Seuss stories that we own. Then, if you’re brave enough, tackle the More Tricky Quiz, which consists of the 23 less well-known (in my opinion) Seuss stories that we own.

Here’s how the scoring works: You get two points on the Easy Quiz if you can name the story without consulting the list of stories (in other words, you pull the title out of your head). One point if you get it after consulting the list. You get 3 points on the More Tricky Quiz if you can name the story without consulting the list of stories, and one point if you use the list. And you lose a billion points if you cheat and use google or wikipedia. Leave your score in the comments, if you want. Don’t worry, we can still be friends if you don’t know your Seuss backwards and forwards. Just not BEST friends. 😉

Random Information

Oh and because I know you’re wondering, here are the stories we don’t have here in Columbus (we may have a few still at my parents’ house in CA):
The Seven Ladies Godiva (a bit scandalous and more than a bit funny)
The Cat in the Hat Songbook (does anyone own this?)
My book about ME (hmm never had even heard of this one)
I Can Draw it Myself (I’ll have to look into this one. If it teaches you how to draw Seuss feet, I’m game.)
Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You? (Oh my, how come we don’t have this one?!)
Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now (Another classic)
The Shape of Me and Other Stuff (I’ve gotta say, the title isn’t too compelling)
There’s a Wocket in My Pocket (I think we have this one actually, just can’t lay my finger on it)
The Cat’s Quizzer (eh?)
I am NOT Going to Get Up Today (Woah, I hope we have this somewhere. Another classic.)
My Many Colored Days (published posthumously, never had heard of it)
Gerald McBoing-Boing (ditto. Though, the title is promising.)

Without further ado…

The Easy Quiz

1:
The kingdom was a low one; the sea was a high one…

2:
So I’d open each cage. I’d unlock every pen,
Let the animals go, and start over again.

3:
A person’s a person, no matter how small.

4:
Then, of course, those with stars all got frightfully mad.
To be wearing a star now was frightfully bad.

5:
Won’t look like rain. Won’t look like snow.
Won’t look like fog. That’s all we know.

6:
And he ordered the Boys in the Back Room to figger
how to build me some sort of a triple-sling jigger.

7:
And at that very moment, we heard a loud whack!
From outside the fields came a sickening smack
of an axe on a tree. Then we heard the tree fall.
The very last Truffula Tree of them all!

8:
They would feast on Who-pudding, and rare Who-roast-beast

9:
This throne that I sit on is too, too low down.
It ought be higher! he said with a frown.

10:
“I wish she’d come back
‘Cause I’m cold and I’m wet.
I hope that Mayzie bird doesn’t forget.”

11:
“If that’s your hat in your hand,” demanded the King, “what’s that on your head?”

12:
You couldn’t say “Skat!” ’cause that wouldn’t be right.
You couldn’t shout “Scram!” ’cause that isn’t polite.
A host has to put up with all kinds of pests,
For a host, above all, must be nice to his guests.

13:
I might catch some sort of a fast-moving bloke
Who zips through the waves with an over-arm stroke!
(I might and I may and that’s really no joke!)

14:
And FLOOB is for Floob-Boober-Bab-Boober-Bubs
Who bounce in the water like blubbery tubs

15:
… A Chinese man Who eats with sticks…
A big Magician Doing tricks…
A ten-foot beard that needs a comb…
No time for more, I’m almost home.

16:
Not on a train! Not in a tree!
Not in a car! Sam! Let me be!

17:
This one has a little star.
This one has a little car.
Say! what a lot of fish there are.

18:
PAT
CAT
Pat sat on cat.

19:
Now we come to
ticks and tocks , sir.
Try to say this
Mr. Knox, sir…

20:
These Things will not bite you.
They want to have fun.
Then, out of the box
Came Thing Two and Thing One!

21:
You’ll see Drum Major Sneelock fling-flang his baton
And my Organ-McOrgan-McGurkus come on

22:
It mentions right here they can grow in a pot.
But mention the head of a girl, it does not!

23:
Wherever you fly, you’ll be best of the best.
Wherever you go, you will top all the rest.
Except when you don’t.
Because, sometimes, you won’t.

The More Tricky Quiz

24:
A yawn is quite catching, you see. Like a cough.
It just takes one yawn to start other yawns off.

25:
And it happened that both of them came to a place
Where they bumped. There they stood.
Foot to foot. Face to face.

26:
I put my arm around their waist
And sat right down beside them.
I calmed them down.
Poor empty pants
With nobody inside them.

27:
And how fortunate you’re not Professor de Breeze
who has spent the last thirty-two years, if you please,
trying to teach Irish ducks how to read Jivvanese.

28:
“Tut tut!” said the doctor. “Such talk! How absurd!
Your tail is just right for your kind of bird.”

29:
“And I kept right on looking and looking until
I’d looked ’round the world and right back to this hill!”

30:
I can read in bed.
And in purple.
And in brown.
I can read in a circle and upside down!

31:
LOOK!
Dr. Derring’s Singing Herrings!
Derring’s Singing, Spelling Herrings!
See what Derring’s Herrings do!
They sing and spell it! All for you!

32:
Small feet
Big feet
Here come pig feet.

33:
Goat
girl
googoo goggles

34:
“The greener green grapes are,
the keener keen apes are
to gobble green grape cakes.”

35:
Wake every person,
pig and pup,
till EVERYONE
on Earth is up!

36:
And left!
Think of Left!
And think about BEFT.
Why is it that beft
always go to the left?

37:
“Oh, wall spots!” he laughed.
“Let me tell you some news.
To take spots off a wall,
All I need is two shoes!”

38:
Often she wishes that, when they were born,
She had named one of them Bodkin Van Horn

39:
You! In the front row.
You’re excused! You may go.
Your fingernails aren’t very clean.

40:
Poor Zooie got so awfully mad
So mad he could have spit.
But he did a far, far braver thing…
He simply yelled, “I QUIT!”

41:
“I’m here to stay forever
In your lovely, lovely home.
And now, with your permission, dear,
I’ll use your tele-foam.

42:
Instead of the city, we ran into trouble.
Our camel got sick and he started to bubble.

43:
And today was quite an awful day
for me and my poor pup.
My trouble was I had a mind.
But I couldn’t make it up.

44:
But I didn’t stop then, ’cause I knew of some ducks
By the name of the Single-File Zummzian Zuks
Who stroll, single file, through the mountains of Zumms
Quite oddly enough, with their eggs on their thumbs

45:
Norval won’t bring you
much comfort, you know.
But he’s quite sympathetic
as Clinic Fish go.

46:
Miss Loon is our librarian,
She hides behind the shelves,
And often cries out, “LOUDER!”
When we’re reading to ourselves.

The Easy Quiz Titles (in no particular order)

A) The Cat in the Hat
B) If I Ran the Zoo
C) Daisy-Head Mayzie
D) One fish two fish red fish blue fish
E) How the Grinch Stole Christmas
F) Horton Hears a Who
G) Horton Hatches the Egg
H) The Sneetches
I) The King’s Stilts
J) Thidwick – The Big-Hearted Moose
K) Yertle the Turtle
L) The Butter Battle Book
M) The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins
N) Bartholomew and the Oobleck
O) And To Think I Saw It on Mulberry Street
P) The Lorax
Q) Hop on Pop
R) Green Eggs and Ham
S) If I ran the Circus
T) McElligot’s Pool
U) On Beyond Zebra
V) Fox in Socks
W) Oh the Places You’ll Go!

The More Tricky Quiz titles (in no particular order)

AA) What was I Scared of?
AB) Dr. Seuss’s ABC
AC) Great Day for UP
AD) Oh the Thinks You Can Think!
AE) Happy Birthday To You!
AF) I Had Trouble in getting to Solla Sollew
AG) Scrambled Eggs Super
AH) I Can Read with My Eyes Shut!
AI) I Can Lick 30 Tigers Today!
AJ) The Foot Book
AK) The Zax
AL) Too Many Daves
AM) The Cat in the Hat Comes Back
AN) Oh Say Can You Say?
AO) Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky you are?
AP) Dr. Seuss’s Sleep Book
AQ) You’re only Old Once
AR) King Looie Katz
AS) The Big Brag
AT) Gertrude McFuzz
AU) The Glunk that was Thunk
AV) Hooray for Diffendoofer Day!
AW) Hunches in Bunches

Answers:
1I 2B 3F 4H 5N 6L 7P 8E 9K 10G 11M 12J 13T 14U 15O 16R 17D 18Q 19V 20A 21S 22C 23W 24AP 25AK 26AA 27AO 28AT 29AS 30AH 31AE 32AJ 33AB 34AN 35AC 36AD 37AM 38AL 39AI 40AR 41AU 42AF 43AW 44AG 45AQ 46AV

Cheesy Scoring Profiles

80-115 You are a Seuss aficionado and I bow to your great knowledge. You know your Sneetches and empty breeches and you probably even know Seuss’s first name was Theodore.

60-80 You are confident about your Seuss knowledge, as well you should be. You probably scored better than I would have unless I had created the quiz myself.

30-60 You read these books as a child, and have a fairly keen memory. However you could stand to brush up on your Bartholomew. There may even be some stories you have yet to discover. Dust off your books and get reading!

10-30 You are a nice person, and I’m glad you took the quiz. It is commendable that you’ve read some of these stories, but you could use another trip to Sollaw Sollew.

0-10 You just wasted your time, I’m afraid. In the time it took you to take this quiz, you could have read a Seuss book – a much more worthwhile endeavor. I recommend On Beyond Zebra to broaden your horizons. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Nothing but random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Wee Seussy One

  1. Meg Larsen says:

    Ok, only a 35, even with a new baby and reading some of these myself–but with sleep deprivation everything in my world turns Seussical so it all seems so familiar, I’m afraid!

    As for the school thing, it was definitely a mixed blessing. Ultimately, I was glad to be able to choose my adorable baby! Besides, who really wants to be a research chemist? Not me, that’s for sure! I am more than probably going to do an online University of Phoenix program over the next few years that will give me a M.A. in Education and teaching certification–about the same cost as a regular master’s program which is a blow, but totally worth it for the flexibility I think! Life after baby keeps proving that I only get my schedule if Scotty gets his first. He wears the pants in the family now!

    Like

  2. DaveA says:

    Dang! Got a measly 15, but those 7 stories I know by heart! That was a fun quiz, thanks –

    I have “The Shape of Me”, “I Am NOT Going to Get Up Today” and “Mr. Brown Can Moo”, all are very good IMO (but then I like all the ones I have). I’d loan them to you but I have an 11-month old myself, sorry!

    BTW it’s great fun to hear the older siblings reading Suess to the younger ones. Lots of giggles!

    Like

  3. manwaringfam says:

    I’m not taking the quiz because I am not the most well versed Seuess person. Although, “Mr. Brown Can Moo” is one of my favorites. We have it in a board book. I really get into it when I read it to Mason or Quincy. So much so that it is a little too much for Quincy to take in. She usually gets pretty antsy.

    Did you write that quiz? If so you are insane! In a good way!

    BTW, hope little Mackenize is feeling better!

    Like

  4. beanland says:

    Yes, I wrote the quiz. Thank you (I think). 🙂

    Like

  5. Bobe,

    I started to take the quiz and got distracted by the twins wanting to go potty in their potty chairs. As much as I love Dr. Seuss, I’m afraid potty training trumps your quiz. 😉

    I will take it one of these days. 🙂

    -Liz

    Like

  6. beanland says:

    Woo! I think potty-training twins might actually get you bonus points on the quiz. Good luck. 🙂

    Like

  7. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    so i had no idea he wrote so many books! i have some reading to do. i love reading green eggs & ham and cat in the hat out loud to the kids. but that’s about all we have. cool post!

    Like

  8. Debbers says:

    I wish I was smarter, but alas, I am not,
    a mere 24 points is all that I got.

    The only redeeming thing I can claim,
    is the knowledge that Seuss is just a pen name.

    So oft mispronounced, it may be a surprisal,
    that Seuss’s last name should instead be said Geisel.

    And I humbly, respectfully ask you to see,
    that dear Teddie’s full name does not end in ‘E’.

    Now back to the land of toil I must go,
    where every slight whine must be met with a “No!”

    Where fighting and crying and pouting can’t stay,
    where good mothers mustn’t say “Just go AWAY!”

    I have dishes and laundry and dust bunnies to tame,
    But I thank you, dear Sis, for the fun of your game!

    Like

  9. Debbers says:

    I think that my 26 points deserves more than just a “nice person”, given my deprived childhood (Mom NEVER read to me), my advanced age (42), and my being married to a woman who is such an excellent “read a loud-er” that my children won’t let me read to them.

    Like

  10. Debbers says:

    Please forgive my faux-pas and my sad scoring glitch.
    Reading the key would have saved me this hitch.

    My re-added score leaves me feeling quite nifty;
    A nice, above-average, and less shameful 50!

    Like

  11. melanie says:

    Ok, I want to know who Debbers is, because I am totally impressed, first with you, beanland, for such an amazing quiz, and secondly with debbers for the great suess-ish rant of a modern mother. And now I have such a great reading list!

    Like

  12. susan in NC says:

    I stumbled upon your blog whilst looking for an image of “King Looie Katz”.

    I too was raised on Dr. Seuss, my dad was introduced to the Dr. shortly befor eI was born while he was in college.

    I too have raised my kiddos on Dr Seuss, the eldest was sitting through full length books by 1 year old. I share them with other children in my life and am trying to finish my collection,

    Have fun, she’s only young once!

    Like

Leave a Reply

