Overalls – *Updated*

Mackenzie and I went to a barbecue on Friday night. (We brought veggie kebabs with onion, mushroom, fresh pineapple, bell peppers, and zucchini marinaded in garlic, fresh minced ginger, and soy sauce. So yummy.) (Please ignore my daughter’s purple foot. She has circulation like her mama.)

My dad, characteristically, took a zillion photos. And, uncharacteristically, put quite a few online for me! 🙂

I love how the backlight shows off her two patches of long hair.

Mackenzie’s communications have expanded to include motorboating in addition to trilling:

Finally, here’s a photo just for her daddy. Showing off her two new teeth! (And her new grandpa-smile 🙂 )

*UPDATED TO ADD*

I almost forgot to mention… I have a soft spot in my heart for overalls and I love dressing M in them. So far she mainly enjoys chewing on the straps. 🙂

As I was pondering overalls, I realized that I wore a lot of them when I was little as well. Photographic evidence:

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Trips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Overalls – *Updated*

  1. manwaringfam says:

    So sweet! How are you liking that pouch?

    Like

  2. Liz MacAskill says:

    Love the photos… I’ve been meaning to ask you if I can try the pouch out with Audrey for a couple minutes – I’m trying to decide if I should invest in one. 🙂

    Like

  3. beanland says:

    Yeah so, I really like the *idea* of the sling, but I’m not sure it works really well for us quite yet. Here are some preliminary thoughts:
    – Mackenzie is a yacker. If you picture a typical kangaroo hold, the belly is all folded in half. This is not good for yacking. Or, rather, it makes for excellent and frequent yacking. 😉
    – Babies are much more flexible than they appear. She loves the kangaroo hold, except for the yacking.
    – The hip hold would maybe work, but she is 5 months old and is a snug fit inside the sling for the kangaroo hold, and a loose fit for the hip hold. Maybe I should have bought a small sling instead of a medium? I just don’t feel like there’s quite enough tension holding Mackenzie close to me when she’s on my hip.
    – She fell asleep in the hip hold, so obviously she was comfortable in it. But I felt like I had to support her with one arm the whole time she slept, which kind of defeated the purpose.
    – Overall, I feel like the sling is more ergonomic than the bjorn. She seems to like to snuggle in the sling better than she likes to be all spread out in the Bjorn.

    (You asked… 🙂 )

    -Anne

    Like

  4. Denise says:

    She is such a beautiful baby.

    Like

  5. Jessica says:

    I’m not sure how it’s possible, but she just gets cuter everyday. I’m glad your family is getting to spend some time with her. Oh, and you.

    Like

  6. Liz says:

    Overalls rock. I’d still wear the ones I got after I was married but they don’t fit. Wish I could say it’s because I’m pregnant… 😉 (no, no, I don’t wish to be pregnant quite yet!)

    Like

  7. Jenny Smolnik says:

    I love these pictures.She is adorable, and you look great. Carric and I sure do miss you and Scott. I hope you everything’s going well for your family.

    Like

  8. I love that first photo, the look of curiosity on Mackenzie’s face, a tongue reaching for her overall strap. Fabulous!

    Like

  9. simeet gandhi says:

    You both look so smart and stylish. Really a cute baby and nice overall legacy between mom and daugther. Nice going Anne I am glad to see you enjoying motherhood so much!

    Like

  10. manwaringfam says:

    Okay, a little late, but I just saw your comment on the sling. I went through a phase with Quincy that I didn’t like the sling either. The stage where they can’t snuggle like a new born and can’t hang out on your hip like a big girl. It wil pass and pretty soon you will like it again. I hope! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

