Full circle

Daughter

Mackenzie is currently hollering because Mean Mom is making her take a nap.

If she had her way, she wouldn’t nap at all. Naps are terrible because she has to be alone in a room with her eyes closed. These strict conditions prevent her from cooing at people and playing with toys.

Nevertheless, she must nap 3 times a day, minimum. House Rules.

Mother

I am currently yawning because I can’t take a nap.

If I had my way, I’d nap several times a day. Naps are lovely because I get to be alone in a room with my eyes closed. I don’t have to coo at anybody or play with “toys” (computers, vacuums,…).

Nevertheless, I am prevented from napping most days due to silly House Rules such as “We must eat meals and wear clean clothes”.

And so it goes…

Poor Mackenzie has several more years of enforced napping on her hands, snuggling up with a blanket in the quiet, warm afternoons. It’s tough duty, dontcha know. She’ll protest it every day and I’ll look on in envy.

Now I know why MY mom told ME with such confidence that “Sometimes life is not fair.” 😉

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in I am a mother, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Full circle

  1. Jessica says:

    I totally think kids need sleep just like they need food, shelter, love, etc. So great job keeping her healthy. Oh the irony that they hate it…and what we wouldn’t give for a few minutes of it.

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    Sleeping rocks.

    I used to hate naps and my Dad always told me that “someday you will love taking naps.”

    Wish I could say he wasn’t right.

    Like

  3. Tammy says:

    Hey Anne,

    Sometimes I wonder why I even get my children bathed and dressed in clean clothes in the morning…. within an hour they don’t even look like they’ve been bathed OR dressed in clean clothes. Guess it’s just one of the many “benefits” of being a child and loving to explore the wonderous world outside!! ha ha ha Besides, I don’t ever recall reading a Mommy Rule that said the kids “had to be in clean clothes”. ha ha

    Like

  4. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    cute post! i always tell my kids, i wish someone would make me take a nap. every so often evan will be so tired he’ll ask to go to bed…it’s bliss!

    Like

Leave a Reply

