Why Family Reunions are Worth the Hassle

Scott’s reunion involved very little hassle for me because his marvelous sister planned the whole thing. I didn’t have to worry about renting the houses, coordinating meals and activities, nothing. Nada.

However, it was a Big Deal to get the whole family to the Oregon coast for the festivities (or as close to the whole family as we came, anyway). We flew cross-country with a baby, one brother took time off work and flew from California, one sister flew internationally with six kids and no husband. All the rest drove for 12+ hours in three cars, each containing one of the following:
A) two dogs
B) six kids
C) a spitfire toddler and no air-conditioning.

(That would be an interesting beginning to a Choose Your Own Adventure novel, I would think…)

At any rate, we ended up taking a red eye back and it took a full day for me to get back to into the real world.

When I did, I dumped half of my photos on SmugMug and this one took my breath away:

Mackenzie and her Grandma Bean. ๐Ÿ™‚

It was interesting for me to have the only baby at the reunion, with 29 people and two dogs in attendance. Mackenzie was very popular. While she was being passed from cousin to Aunt to Grandma and back, I watched her face light up and realized she was only getting a small taste of the love her family has for her.

Take her Grandma Bean, for example. I’ve told Mackenzie how her Grandma flew out to spend Christmas with us and count down the days to her arrival. How she helped me through days of contractions (and lack of contractions), and waited outside the delivery room to hear Mackenzie’s first cries. How she sat with me for the next few days in the hospital, finishing her special blankets for Mackenzie while I fumbled through my first attempts at breastfeeding, and walking unassisted. How she accepted a bundle of crying baby from crying me without hesitation at 2 am on our second night home.

When I see that secret smile Mackenzie is giving her Grandma, I think maybe she understands a little.

If that one moment was the only reason we made the trek to Oregon, I would do it again in a heartbeat.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Trips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why Family Reunions are Worth the Hassle

  1. Liz says:

    *sniff sniff*

    That Grandma Bean is a keeper. And I really need to see Mackenzie soon – I want her to smile at me that way. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Can’t wait for a MacAskill family reunion!

    Like

  2. Momma Bean says:

    Bring on the boxes of Kleenex! Goodness, Anne. I decided to sit down to see what photos you had posted from the reunion. I was reveling in not only the great photos but your comments of your trip. When I came to the photo of Mackenzie and I and read your comments, I lost it! That so touched my heart! Thank you for being part of our family and being such a great wife and mother! The reunion was a great time and I have many wonderful memories!

    Like

  3. Kristin says:

    I’m so happy mom found this post. I was going to email it to her today since she doesn’t regularly check the blogs, but she went and surpassed my expectations.

    Thanks for saying I’m marvelous, too. That made my day. And given the choose your own adventure beginning, I think I’d still pick the spitfire toddler with no air conditioner. I still can’t believe our car doesn’t have AC. Who knew they made cars this century without AC?!?!?

    Like

  4. Anon Sister says:

    Hmmm…. one of Scott’s sisters and her family is missing from the “how everyone got to Oregon” recap. Oh well… at least they were counted in the 29. hee hee Love the pics!! The one of Scott throwing the frisbee right at you is terrific!! Way to go. Mackenzie smiling at Mom was pretty cool. Nice shot, again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  5. Anon Sister says:

    umm…. how do I access all the pics on smugmug??

    Like

  6. beanland says:

    @Anon Sister:

    How’s this for a rewrite: “We flew cross-country with a baby, one brother took time off work and flew from California, one sister flew internationally with six kids and no husband, and Scott’s favorite sister flew from UT with three children and no husband.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Which pictures are you trying to access? For most of them, you can just go here: http://beanland.smugmug.com . Are there some you’re not finding?

    Like

  7. Anon Sister says:

    Oh, thank you for the correct smugmug site. No wonder I couldn’t find them!! duh!!

    LOVE the recap!! It’s most appropriate. (Just don’t let the other sisters see it!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

