Independence Day

A few months back, my sister-in-law described her 8 month old daughter this way: “She doesn’t crawl yet, but she can get where she’s going”. At the time, I nodded knowingly… but inside I was thinking “Huh? How is that even possible?”

Now, now I understand.

Mackenzie recently made the discovery that rolling could get her closer to a distant toy. Now as soon as she hits the ground, she rolls and scoots, and scootches and reaches and twists and lunges and yes, she gets where she’s going without crawling.

Time to Mackenzie-proof the house. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Independence Day

  1. simeet says:

    What a cute little baby girl you have Anne! Your family seems so amazingly wonderful and happy. I am happy that Mary’s friend, the “smart one”, has grown up to enjoy motherhood and life so much!

    I will never forget you and Mary and how you both tried to be my friend in sophomore year of high school. I remember you both showed up at my house to take my bowling, but I refused to go. (I was shy). And you both really wanted me to get contacts.

    Oh well. I look forward to the day when I am happily married and a parent. I would strive to be as dynamic and creative as you are with it!

    Like

  2. cabbey says:

    Sadly that phase doesn’t last very long. ’cause it’s soo much fun to watch.

    Like the calm before the storm… she’ll be tearing around the house soon, and shortly after that grumpy any time they’re NOT crawling. (Quinn’s just hit that stage.)

    Like

  3. Glad you guys had a fun 4th. Audrey is getting closer and closer to crawling. I’m not sure I’m excited… 😉

    Like

  4. Jessica says:

    I’m just waiting for Natalie to discover the cupboards and the treasures they hold,. Then life gets messy. Mackenzie is looking as cute as ever.

    Like

  5. Jenny Smolnik says:

    You guys have the cutest family. You all look great, and it sounds like life is going well. Carric and I miss you. Please say hello to Scott for us.

    Like

  6. macpeanut says:

    LOVE THESE PHOTOS!!!!

    You are getting awfully good with that camera Anne! I especially love how you caught those catch-lights in Mackenzie’s eyes in that first one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

