Hurricanes in Ohio?

I’m writing this post using the electricity and internet at the hospital where I’m doing my OB/GYN rotation because we have neither at our house right now.

Yesterday afternoon while we were at church the power to the building went out. We hadn’t heard word of any upcoming storms in our area, so we figured it was just a fluke and continued on with the lessons. Imagine our surprise when we went outside after church ended and found that, lo and behold, Columbus was getting hammered by 75 mph winds. Large tree branches littered the roads all the way home, about 50% of the traffic lights we saw weren’t working, and whole sections of the city appeared powerless.

I was trying to figure out what could have caused such widespread damage and was thinking that it could have been a tornado, but I was quite surprised to hear that we were suffering the aftereffects of Hurricane Ike. Wait a second, you may say, didn’t Hurricane Ike make landfall almost 1300 miles away from Columbus, OH? Yes, yes it did. And I honestly had no idea that the aftereffects of a hurricane could travel nearly that far. I suppose that this would have been helpful information to have prior to yesterday afternoon, but I can’t honestly say that I would have done anything differently because I probably wouldn’t have believed that it would affect us this far away.

The end result of yesterday’s hurricane-force winds is that over 325,000 people in Ohio are still without power this morning, ourselves included. When I first called the power company last night there was a message stating that they expected power to be back on within the next few hours. No big deal, we thought. Eight hours later we were still powerless. The message for the electrical company had changed to say that they wouldn’t be able to say how long the power would be out for another 24 to 48 hours and that we should plan on being powerless for up to the next 7 days. As of this morning we were told that our area was expected to have power back by 8 pm this coming Wednesday. That’s definitely better than the 7 days we were thinking we might have to deal with, but it still seems like a long time.

Ironically, the theme of yesterdays sacrament meeting was “If ye are prepared ye shall not fear.” After the meeting I was talking to Anne about how to better prepare our food storage and we were trying to figure out how we would utilize our food storage in the event that we ran out of electricity. It turns out that this was a very valid question, it was just a tad late in coming to my mind.

We came home and opened our fridge for about five seconds to grab a container of TJ’s roasted garlic hummus, which we ate with Triscuits and some dried fruit for dinner. For dessert, we polished off our remaining quart of Breyer’s mint chocolate soup ice cream. We’re actually quite blessed in that we don’t have many items in our fridge and freezer that will go bad if they reach room temperature. It’ll shorten the life of our fruits and veggies, but the only real danger is that we may lose our butter and cheese. Well, that and the fact that we may get a bit tired of eating semi-defrosted fruits and veggies over the next couple of days.

-Scott

P.S. My apologies for not including any pictures, but I can’t use our card reader until we get power back at our house.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in By Scott, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hurricanes in Ohio?

  1. Kristin says:

    I’m glad you guys are okay and keep us posted as to when your power is back on.

    Like

  2. angelbearoh says:

    My power came back on around 11:17 this morning.
    Joy unspeakable and full of glory!

    Like

  3. mel says:

    I read about how far people were feeling the effects, and the only thing I can think is that with the effects going that far, I can’t imagine what it would have been like to be in Galviston when it came through. I’m glad you guys are all right, though.

    Oh, and I’ll have to tell you about my balls of yum. I have tried them, and changed a couple of things on the recipe, and everyone loves them. So, thanks for the idea! You guys are awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

