Rough Month

Things going on right now:

  1. Scott is on plastic surgery right now, and his team has been on craniofacial call for the past week and a half. His work routinely involves surgeries that last 10-12 hours, in which he is required to stand still and be quiet while remaining perfectly focused for hours at a time. I don’t see him in the morning, and he usually comes home in the evening exhausted and ready to study, eat and crash.
  2. I am swamped with print orders at work. This is a good thing, but it sure keeps me hopping. In addition, a huge huge huge change is coming to SmugMug (at least it’s huge for me) and it’s been tacking hours onto my already long workday.
  3. Mackenzie is getting molars. To her credit, she’s handling them remarkably well, but is just a bit emotionally fragile. She has taken to breaking down when she trips (which is often) and sometimes if I just motion like I’m pulling up a chair at the computer. Poor thing. She’s also bruised on her cheeks and forehead from crashing into walls, furniture, toys, and the floor. Walking Running at top speed is hard!
  4. Right now, Scott and I sleep in the same bed for 2-4 hours a night. I finally call it quits at work around 2am, and he springs out of bed shortly thereafter so he can get to the hospital by 4 or 5.
  5. Mackenzie still wakes up around 3am to nurse on some days, and more often now that she’s teething and plugged up. Of course, it’s hard to nurse when you can’t breathe through your nose, so it takes patience on both of our parts to get the job done.
  6. We recently found out we’re going to be taking Mackenzie on an International Adventure in the very near future. This is wonderful and exciting, but it’s required a lot of pre-trip work (we had to rush out and get a passport for her, purchase plane tickets, etc.) and I feel the need to have some clue about what we’ll do and where we’ll stay when we get there. Planning takes time. Time is not something I have a lot of right now.
  7. On top of that, it dawned on me this week that Christmas is just around the corner. We want to get thoughtful presents for family members, wrap them, and ship them in time to open on Christmas Day. We want to order Christmas cards, address them, and mail them to people out of state. We want to make paper snowflakes to decorate the apartment, and introduce Mackenzie to the smell of a real Christmas tree and the breathtaking glow of Christmas lights at nighttime. None of the above have happened yet. But hey, there are still two more weeks, right?

How I deal with stress:

In general, I’m a very happy person. But, as my dad once told Scott, “Anne is more up than almost anyone else I know, but when she’s down, she is down.” I don’t go down for days at a time, more like an hour or two.

When I reach my breaking point (and I have done so twice in the past week), I don’t get angry or lash out. I’m like an old, crumbly rubber band. I just silently snap and become nonfunctional. The world comes crashing down. Poor Scott is left to pick up the pieces and set the world right again, but he does it like no one else can. He puts me back together and wraps me up and holds me until we can both get on with life.

Things I try to remember when I’m down:

I’m an amazingly blessed person. I have an amazing husband who’s going to be an excellent doctor. I have a beautiful baby who makes me laugh out loud every single day, causes me to cry happy tears on a regular basis, and is currently babbling away happily in her crib because she’s not yet ready to fall asleep for her nap. I really enjoy my job. It challenges me and makes me stretch and grow every day, and I really find it fulfilling (oh, and making money while being a full-time mom is a rare blessing).

The eye of the calm after the storm:
After I’m back in reality, I suck it up and put my head down and start running again. Right now, I’m thinking we’ll celebrate Christmas in January, when Scott is on a cush rotation and things slow down at work. Besides, Christmas trees will probably be a bargain by then… right? 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Living with a doctor, Tough Days. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rough Month

  1. Simeet says:

    At least your busy, ha. No, you sound like you have your head in the right place and it sounds like you have an incredible life and family.
    Just thought I’d stop by and wish you a Merry Christmas. I’ve not forgotten you and Mary!
    best wishes,
    Simeet

    Like

  2. Camille Craw says:

    Life can be that way sometimes darn it! Also like the rubber band, each time you are stretched it’s a little more than last time. Heavenly father made us pretty stretchy. I don’t think we’ll break! Good luck working through everything.

    Like

  3. Right on. Great post, Bobe. When things get crazy, you really need to prioritize. And it sounds like you are. I’ve been there (well, not exactly, but I think I understand) Holiday crafts and the Christmas tree can wait!

    Wish I could send you some sleep! 🙂

    -Liz

    Like

  4. Denise says:

    Hang in there! Some of those Christmas things are not (as) important! Don’t stress over them. You are an awesome mom and amazing woman!

    Like

  5. debbers says:

    You’re amazing, Anne! I stand in awe.

    Love you!

    Like

  6. cabbey says:

    It will be soo nice when we get that release out the door. 🙂 And I’d like to hope some of the changes in it will help with your order load at work. Remember that lul we were thinking we’d get between 1st molars and canines? I think I can almost see it… I’ll let ya know how it feels when we get there. (Quinn is about 1/2 way through his 4th molar… so we can’t be more than 3 or 4 days from the 1st set being in. I hope.) As Liz said… time to prioritize… we don’t have any decorations up either, but took a drive around the other night with Quinn and showed him all kinds of nice displays in the neighborhood. I’m pretty sure he enjoyed it, and hey, didn’t chew on any live electrical cords like I expect if I do our usual window lights setup, double bonus! 🙂

    As Red Greene says, “I’m pulling for ya; we’re all in this together.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

