Fisheye View

In an unexpected turn of events, my dad has already put lots of photos on SmugMug from our trip!

Here’s a quick rundown and a subset of those photos. He took them with a “fisheye” lens on the camera, and I love the effect.

Christmas Day – Fly through NYC and London to get to Paris.

Mackenzie’s Birthday – Actually arrive in Paris. Soak it in and realize our rooms are on the top story of a hotel with no elevator. 118 steps up, 118 steps down.

Day 3 – Paris, baby.

Day 4 – Paris. Way too much to see and eat. Everything tastes better there. Fruit, hot chocolate, you name it.

Day 5 – Pickup a rental car. Amazingly, and frustratingly, that simple task consumed nearly the whole day. We still managed to drive out to Mt. Saint Michel on the west coast of France, and see it in all its nighttime glory.

Day 6 – Chateaux.

Day 7 – Central France.

Day 8 – French and Italian Rivieras.

Day 9 – Cinqueterre (Italian fishing villages)

Day 10 – Venice. Ahhhh Venice.

Day 11 – Venice again, but this time with blindness, thievery, and missing airports. 2 flights back to the USA.

Day 12 – Middle-of-the-night wanderings at the Newark airport, 2 more flights and back to school for Scott.

Mackenzie and I quietly observing a service at the Cathedral of Notre Dame:

Our little family in the chapel of St. Chapelle. The stained glass windows were taken apart piece-by-piece during WWII to save them from destruction. They were lovingly replaced after the war ended.

I took this photo on the metro in Paris. Mackenzie loves her Grandpa Mac and I like to think it’s because she remembers how good he was to her when she was just brand-new.

We were delighted to find a blue eiffel tower waiting for us in Paris:

My dad stopped us outside of this random restaurant for a photo-op during one of our late nights wandering the city. Apparently, the name of the restaurant has something to do with pig feet and my brother actually ate a pig’s foot at that very restaurant one year ago. Small, (and kind of gross) world, huh? (If you clicked on that link, you have only yourself to blame. I labeled it appropriately. 😉 )

Only in Paris can you walk around at night and stumble across the Louvre quite by accident. “What’s this cool building here?” “Oh my.”:

I mentioned our trip to my pediatrician today at Mackenzie’s 1 year appointment and his jaw dropped. “I haven’t even been to Paris!” He said. Here’s The Girl outside the Louvre:

She might not have fully understood the amazingness of being in Paris, but I sure did. After such a hectic 6 weeks leading up to the trip, I was ready to enjoy every minute of our trip.

Much more blogging to come. Why? The days in Europe were far more exciting than my average day here, the photos are higher quality (thanks, Dad) and I want to remember it perfectly for a long, long time.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fisheye View

  1. Camille Craw says:

    I would so love to go…I haven’t really seen Paris and I served my mission in France. The airport is all they offered me and it was quite crowded! I love the eiffel tower photo! It’s awesome!

    Like

  2. Baldy says:

    Hahaha, yay for the fisheye! I rented it for the trip, used it the first few days and kinda forgot about it, so I’m glad you liked it.

    Maybe I’ll get it out again tonight while I’m back in Paris, but Paris isn’t the same without Anne.

    Like

  3. Tammy says:

    What fun pictures!! Glad you guys had a fun time!

    Like

  4. Angie says:

    I loved that your ped.”hadn’t even been to Paris”. What does that mean anyway? 😉 That sounds like it was a fantastic trip and I can’t wait for all the recaps. I am especially excited that you are the only one who is going to play b-ball Sat. with me….who else can we bribe into playing????

    AND I can’t believe you have a ONE year old!!

    Like

  5. NJones says:

    I love that shot in front of the Eiffel tower… oh la la!

    Like

  6. Tommi says:

    Fisheye works well in Paris! Excellent photos. The Eiffel tower looks amazing with the strong blue lights.

    Like

Leave a Reply

