She didn’t get it from me

My girl? She’s a girly-girl.

Earlier this week, she found a chain of ringy-dings and managed to put it on like a necklace. She had me put on her favorite shoes, which she affectionately refers to as “Boo” (pink dragon boots). She brought me her pretty purple sweater and asked me to “help” her put it on. Then she found those colorful plastic rings that typically stack on a yellow cone (you know the ones) and she put her hand through two of them to wear as bangles on her wrist. Did she stop there, you ask? No.

This girl felt the need to accessorize further and she felt it acutely.

However, having a fashion-challenged mom, she was forced to improvise. A sand bucket made a very smart looking purse, and she carried it snugly in the crook of her elbow as she trounced around the room making her rounds between toys.

She loves all hats and shoes, in particular, and I spend much of the day putting them on and taking them off of her, and then myself, in turn. My goal for the next week: Get “Boo” on camera.

I missed getting the shot of the entire ensemble, but look at the way this little lady carries herself:

She’s 14 1/2 months old and she already out-dresses me. Ok, she did that from day 1. But seriously? It’s only a matter of days until she’ll want to start picking out MY clothes in the morning. And if I’m even halfway smart, I’ll let her.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Funny kids, Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to She didn’t get it from me

  1. Camille Craw says:

    That’s great! Are you still a NO purse woman? I think we have 4-5 dress up purses in our house but Rachel prefers mine and throws a huge tantrum if I would like to carry it! It’s amazing what they come with! What a girly girl!

    Like

  2. Angie says:

    Love it! I remember when Olivia was an infant I had a hard time imagining her different from me. In my mind, she was an extension of me. I quickly realized how wrong I was. Thank goodness she is her own person! Life just keeps getting more interesting, doesn’t it?

    Like

  3. Laura says:

    These pictures are so adorable! Some day I hope to have a girly-girl of my own. How fun!

    Like

  4. Nance says:

    She gets cuter all the time!
    I’m interested in knowing more about Smugmug. We haven’t liked some of the places that have printed our photos. Can you e-mail me some info? njones1230 at gmail.com

    Like

  5. annapackard says:

    Were you afraid of her being a girly girl? I am already dreading the idea that my daughter will be a girly girl and I’m trying to deal with that fear. Any advice?

    Like

  6. beanland says:

    @Anna: I worried that she would somehow miss out on being girly because I really wasn’t. Ok, I’m still not. 🙂 But, my parents wanted me to be… it just wasn’t hardwired in my DNA.

    I should have known my girl would be born with her own hardwiring. With or without my encouragement, she’s a little princess. She has a tough mama so she won’t be a wuss, though. Hehe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

