I blame it on my improved vision

Thursday afternoon, I had LASIK on my eyes.

My vision is now, apparently, 20/20.

(However, I have plenty of halos and haziness plus a rogue scratchiness and watering in my right eye. Maybe I will blog in detail about the whole thing when I can see my computer screen better.)

For now, I have a more important story to tell:

Friday night, I put Mackenzie down to bed at 8:30 and went downstairs to try to read a book. Scott was at the temple.

Mackenzie loves her crib and typically will spend several minutes puttering away up there happily until she drifts off to sleep. I got rather absorbed in my book and realized a whole hour had passed and the girl was still blabbering brightly to herself. It was surprisingly distinct, with no signs of sleepiness at all. I considered checking on her, but instead I somehow passed out cold on the couch, book still open, chin on chest.

Having ones eyes lasered is quite tiring, as it turns out.

Scott came home an hour later and after going upstairs to change, he gently roused me. “Honey?” He said, trying to stifle a chuckle… “Is there a reason you put Mackenzie to bed with the light still on in her room?”

Oh. Well THAT explains it.

The poor girl didn’t realize it was bedtime so she played in her crib with her bear and blanket for at least an hour, then conked out some time before Scott came home. With the lights still ablaze above her.

I feel terrible but like most parenting slip-ups, this is funny in hindsight. My girl has such a sweet temperament, she just made the most of it, I guess.

In happier news, she continues to live the life of a panda bear. She eats shoots and leaves all day long, naps for 3-4 hours, then sleeps 12 hours a night like this:

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Funny kids, I am a mother, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I blame it on my improved vision

  1. Liz says:

    So cute! Audrey does the same thing with her blanket – stuffs it into her mouth. 🙂

    Like

  2. Camille Craw says:

    just posted my comment on the wrong entry—see below posting for my paragraph! 🙂

    Like

  3. owlhaven says:

    I scheduled lasik on my eyes awhile back and then cancelled– maybe one of these days I’ll get brave. Funny about leaving the light on– and thanks for the kind words about my mothering book!

    Mary Ostyn, mom to many

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    Congratulations on your improved vision! Bryan is still on the fence about LASIK, so maybe this will help him swing on over 🙂 You’ve got a real cutie in Mackenzie.

    Like

  5. wendeerosella says:

    I love the photo of Mackenzie in her crib, she is a little bear!

    How are your eyes? Is it worth it? I’ve been seriously debating Lasik, but my eyes are so terribly bad it’s gonna be expensive. In my mind I’m thinking it’s selfish to spend the money on my eyes… What if have some sort of complication or emergency down the road and we need that money that we spend on my vision?!

    Let me know how you’re doing, maybe you can help calm my fears. 🙂

    Like

  6. Andrea says:

    Okay Anne, I did this too. Juse last week!!! I didn’t have surgery on my eyes, but we did have a lot going on. Thanks for your cute comment. I’m so sad I missed saying goodbye to you guys. We miss you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

