Breaking news

My sourdough starter survived the trip to CA.

My family likes sourdough so I multiplied my waffle recipe by 10. That’s a lot of waffles.

I went to bed at 1 am, bemoaning the fact that my batter was hardly bubbling.

I woke up at 7:30 am and found this in the kitchen:

Yes ma’am, it’s active.

Verdict on today’s waffles: Very, very tasty but next time I need to halve the baking soda. I think my sourdough is lively enough without it and using the meyer lemons from my parents’ yard made the batter less acidic than usual so the full baking soda regiment made for a batter that was bitter in parts. Usually, you add the baking soda right before pouring on the griddle and it causes a visible chemical reaction. I should have sprinkled half in and watched before going for the other half. I would have noticed the lack of reaction.

Incidentally, the baking soda is basic and the lemon juice and sourdough starter are acidic and in a perfect world the baking soda neutralizes the lemon juice, creating some extra leavening but letting the sourdough shine through. Baking powder, on the other hand, has both acid and base in it and so the leavening kicks in when you add liquid. And when you bake it.

Anyway.

We smothered ’em in homemade three berry syrup* or straight maple syrup.

*The realization that you can just heat up frozen berries and blend them up and pour them on waffles, without adding any sugar, has changed my life.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Life as we know it, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

