Two New Recipes

I perfected my whole wheat sourdough waffles today. I’d like to be more humble about it, but the waffles were seriously good.

For posterity, I have to document a comment from one of our friends who we had over to partake:

“These are so light, it’s like I’m walking on a cloud. In heaven.”

I thought that was a bit strong, but hey, who am I to judge.

We have a nice deep Williams-Sonoma belgian waffler and it produces ’em looking like this:

Here’s the recipe for 2 pretty hungry people. The original recipe was here but I made some changes to better fit the way we eat.

WHOLE WHEAT SOURDOUGH WAFFLES
The night before, I put the following together (in a plastic bowl. Sourdough doesn’t like metal.):
2 1/2 c. whole wheat flour – I grind mine fresh
1 1/2 TBS sweetener – I use honey
1 1/2 cups unsweetened soymilk + 2 TBS lemon juice + 10 TBS water (basically you want 2 1/4 c. total liquid and I sour soymilk but like to add some water instead because it’s cheaper and works fine. Let it stand for a bit to get nice and thick.)
1/2 c. sourdough starter (the wet kind, aka 100% hydration or 1:1 flour: water)

The next morning, I heat up the waffler and stir in the following, in order:
2/3 tsp. baking soda (sprinkle this around so it’s very evenly dispersed)
1/4 – 1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 TBS canola oil
2 TBS ground flaxseed + 6 TBS water (let stand in a separate bowl for 5-10 minutes, then mix into the batter well)

The batter is unlike any other waffle batter I’ve made. It’s gloopy and fluffy and kind of strange to scoop onto the iron. You have to spread it yourself some, before closing the iron. If you have the Williams-Sonoma waffler, cook ’em up on a 2.5

SERIOUSLY FAST WHITE BEAN SOUP
This soup has four really good things going for it:
– Lots of leafy greens
– Totally healthy. In other words, no compromise to get the bean and veg tasting good. Well, except for maybe salt. The veggie broth and tomatoes have plenty of salt with them, depending on the kind you buy.
– One of the very quickest and easiest meals we eat
– Mackenzie downs the cooked greens without batting an eye

Scott found this on epicurious and adapted it. It makes enough to feed about three people, so definitely double for leftovers.

* 2 large garlic cloves, chopped
* 1 TBS olive oil (it called for 5 times as much but who needs that much oil?)
* 1 (14- to 15-ounce) can stewed tomatoes
* 1 3/4 cups veggie broth
* 2 (19-ounce) cans cannellini beans, rinsed and drained (3 cups) – any white bean will do, and I make this when I have some home-cooked beans on hand.
* 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
* 10+ cups fresh spinach, kale or other leafy green. About 5-7 oz. (if kale, coarsely chop it and remove stems)

Cook garlic in oil for 1-2 minutes. Add everything but the greens and simmer uncovered for 5 minutes. Add greens and cook a few more minutes. The kale will stay just a bit crunchy.

Serve!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Two New Recipes

  1. Angie says:

    I’m going to have to try that white bean soup. I have a lot of them in my food storage, and I need to experiment more with them.

    Like

  2. Did I mention we blog stalk you? Sorry. Andrew will be pleased that he’s been quoted. He tends to overdue it a little when describing food, but he wasn’t far off. They were wonderful!

    Like

    • beanland says:

      Hahaha. No, I had no idea you read my blog. I actually hesitated before quoting him but I thought it was too funny not to include. 😉

      We had a blast on Sunday. When the rain clears up, you and I will have to take our kidlets on a walk.

      Like

  3. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    those waffles do look great! is your waffler easy to clean? I’m looking for a new one, ours doesn’t come apart so if the batter run out it’s impossible to clean it.

    I made the white bean soup for dinner last night and really liked it! it was really fast!

    Like

  4. Jaylene says:

    Tried the waffles today – Steve said he was in heaven and I could make them every day from now on!

    Like

  5. Leslee says:

    Those waffles look amazing…can’t wait to try them. I’m a little embarrassed to admit just how un-savvy I am when it comes to sourdough, but I’m not sure what to do to make starter. Is it just as simple as mixing the flour and water together? Do I need anything else? Then just let it sit–refrigerated or room-temp? And how much starter do you recommend making to begin with?

    Like

Leave a Reply

