Quick photos

Whipping out the iPhone (or as I like to call it, the iBobe) to take a quick photo is addicting.

My girl moves fast and I spent most of my days as a single parent (yay for med school). I usually don’t have the Serious Camera on hand, so I whip out the iBobe and take a few photos. It’s painless and though the photo quality is never stellar, it does document the moment. Every few months, I clean out my phone and I’m tickled with what I find.

Mackenzie and Scott chowing on watermelon at the Jeppesen picnic:

The day I discovered all Mackenzie’s hair pretty much grew as a mohawk and was duck fuzz everywhere else:

Mackenzie’s favorite place to sit. She always wants me to join her in sitting on this curb, so she pats it right next to her and says “Sih sih” encouragingly until I relent.

The day she got into the flour pantry and proceeded to cart each thing across the kitchen and stack it taller than she was. Where does she get these ideas?

… and she went back looking for more:

She loves the piano, just like her daddy:

She has her own sense of style and insists this skirt is meant to be worn at armpit level:

We’re loving the fresh fruit this summer. Every morning, Mackenzie and I share a big bowl of it with rolled grains, ground flax, and chopped up nuts with unsweetened soymilk:

Breakfast at my parents’ house:

My cutie nephew who has two new baby sisters (and who looks like my husband):

I tried to do Mackenzie’s hair one afternoon. She sat patiently and played with her clippies while I wet and re-wet her hair, trying to coerce it into pigtails.

I chose those pictures carefully because they make my effort look successful. Then you see this one and realize, it’s a bit premature to gather that amount of hair in a clip:

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick photos

  1. Meghan says:

    Love the stacking, just like Reese these days.

    A tip on the pigtails: I assume MacKenzie’s hair is a bit fine these days and won’t stay in clips like that even if they look like the teeniest baby clips around. We use little rubber bands like these: http://cgi.ebay.com/500-CLEAR-RUBBER-BANDS-MINI,-SMALL-AND-MEDIUM-_W0QQitemZ290329345603QQcmdZViewItem

    We found them at Target in the hair accessories aisle. We use them to put Reese’s hair in pigtails and then we add the clip to the pigtail after. It works much better. Happy styling!

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    Darling photos, especially the one of the little boy. His mom must be irresistibly attractive.

    In other news, I regrettably must lecture Scott. Bro, are you wearing Tevas? I feel obligated to point out that you have become a Teva-wearing, non-meat-eatin’, pasty white skinned, Outback drivin’, 20-something. In short: you have become an Oregonian. I advise you either fully conform and grow some dreads or rage against the title and buy some sunless tanning cream. I support either decision.

    Like

  3. Liz says:

    I love getting updates on sweet little M! I hope you are nearing the end of the dreaded cast. We sure are looking forward to playing in Tahoe soon.

    -Liz

    Like

Leave a Reply

