You could have knocked me over with a feather

I know I said I wasn’t going to post for a while.

But, dude.

In the last 30 minutes, my 21 1/2 month old little girl did the following:

– Asked to get down from dinner, asked me to take off her diaper, sat down on the potty and nonchalantly pooped (for the first time ever in the potty).

– Counted to nine on her own. Unprompted, she slowly and deliberately enunciated each number.

Um, I wasn’t aware she had super powers.

The potty success was one thing, but she had peed on it a couple of times in the past few weeks so tonight’s matter-of-fact victory was thrilling for me but didn’t completely upend my universe.

However, the counting thing? I had only ever heard her count to four, and it usually took careful prodding. But out of nowhere, she started calling out how many spoonfuls I was measuring in the mixing bowl. When she passed “five” I started looking around for someone prompting her around the corner (we were home alone).

“Six.” (Scott? Are you SURE you left for barbershop chorus an hour ago?)

“Seven”. (Surely there is a hidden camera in the room.)

“Eight”.

“Nine”.

Shocked to the core, I waited expectantly for her to continue on to one hundred. But, apparently “ten” eluded her. I’ve always felt that number was overrated anyway.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You could have knocked me over with a feather

  1. Lonica says:

    Exactly. Who needs ten toes or fingers anyway? Congrats Kenzie!

    Like

  2. Andrea says:

    Oh, she’s so smart and so talented! How exciting!

    Like

  3. Angie says:

    Amazing! That is how O learned to count.. I would count out loud when I was measuring something and then she would copy me. Lovely!

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    Next up, counting change and telling time! These little minds are such sponges! I’m impressed, Mackenzie! Keep it up!

    And, of course, Mom and Dad deserve some acknowledgment for showing M the ropes and being good counters themselves 😉

    And yes, Bryan and I would love to get together and I’m feeling fantastic!! Thanks for asking 🙂

    Like

  5. wendeerosella says:

    Way to go, Mackenzie! That’s so fun. Both the pooping and the counting. Very good girl!

    Like

  6. RobinM says:

    Is there a way for us to hear MacKenzie’s voice? Maybe using an iPhone voice reminder?

    It’s not that I don’t appreciate how busy you are, you understand. It’s not that I don’t love reading about MacKenzie counting to ten. It’s just that sometimes I can be very curious indeed.

    Like

  7. cabbey says:

    woah. Too awesome.

    Robin: easiest way, dial into one of the Tuesday afternoon calls Anne is on… they usually seem to be about the end of M’s nap, so we get to hear her chattering away in the background.

    Like

Leave a Reply

