Christmas Wish List this Year

I’m posting this because I think it reflects my interests right now, and I think it will be fun to look back on this in future years.

A medicine ball, maybe two so Scott and I can work out together (8 lb for me, 12 for him). We went to three training sessions with SmugMug’s physical trainer last week in California and they were absolutely the best workouts I’ve ever had. With the weather getting so cold here, running with Mackenzie is not going to last much longer and I need to transition quickly into working out at home. The trainer had us doing an hour worth of kill-your-body exercise without any machines and I’m hopeful I can recreate some of that in my living room. Any Ohio friends interested in getting together to workout?

Chipotle gift card. Their black bean fajita bowl with maximum beans, veggies, guac, salsa, and lettuce and minimal white rice just hits the spot every time. But, it’s absolutely more expensive than cooking from scratch at home so we don’t grab Chipotle very often. Guilt-free fast, healthy dinner though? Mmmm…

Mothering books. The game is on. Mackenzie is a sponge and a mimic and I’m always up for honing my craft. I borrowed “I am a Mother” from a friend recently and I would recommend it without reservation to every mother I know. It’s a short read and just what I needed to restore peace and excitement about my role and the challenges ahead. I’m also highly interested in “A Mother’s Book of Secrets” because the photographer’s blog is one of the few I read from people who I don’t know personally and it never disappoints. Also, all the proceeds from the book go to research in fighting blindness for children. Since the time Mackenzie started sleeping through the night, I haven’t picked up a single parenting book but I know there is lots of wisdom and helpful information out there.

Creative, quality toys for Mackenzie. Did I mention she is a sponge? Especially when it’s cold and we’re cooped up inside, I love having something different to pull out and play with her. Or even better, something she can do alongside me while I’m cooking or cleaning or working. I’ve thought about things like a durable play kitchen, alphabet placemat, toy stroller and baby doll, and simple puzzles. Seriously, gifts for her are truly gifts for me too right now because my life outside of her is work. So she is my fun, my relaxation, my creative time.

Here’s one thing I made for her that we enjoy: I chose ~7 different colors of construction paper and cut out 3 or 4 fish from each. Then I taped one fish of each color to a separate piece of white paper and wrote out the color (paper plates would have been a better choice). I put all the fish and paper in a ziploc bag and she gets it out a few times a week and likes to match up all the fishies and talk about colors and counting.

Time to enjoy Christmas. This is a gift I need to give myself this year. I really need to carve out time to decorate, to cook, to find ways to help others, to share with Mackenzie the magic and joy and meaning of Christmas. She’s old enough to understand. I let Halloween totally pass us by this year because she wasn’t aware of its existence and I felt like life was too busy to add “one more thing” to our plates. Well, Christmas is hands-down my favorite holiday of the year and this is our first at home with our little family so I’m determined to savor it.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Wish List this Year

  1. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    larsons toys on lane ave has some nice quality toys…i bought nolan a few wooden things…shape sorter & xylophone and they were expensive but look really nice and will last a long time (plus the dog won’t chew wood toys, but she loves plastic).

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    Add this:

    Purchase a membership to valuesparenting.com The clincher for me: FHE ideas for the next 18 years and unique activities/traditions to teach your children important values.

    Oh, and the fact that this is Supermom’s parents’ company.

    Like

  3. marfmom says:

    I don’t know if you’ve heard of the book The Mother In Me, but I HIGHLY recommend it. It’s not a parenting book, but short essays on parenting by LDS women. So, you can read just an essay or two at a time (1-4 pgs each) or read it like a regular book (it’s very short).

    Like

  4. Jessica says:

    I read 71toes too. I read that book and really enjoyed it. I share your love for finding quality toys…ones that make em think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

