My mom skills need honing

Today, I failed at making homemade playdough.

It is sticky, rather goopy, and not at all functional as playdough.

And, I now have a sticky and rather goopy saucepan, plate, spoon, and ziploc bag to show for my labors.

Let’s talk about this for a minute: I majored in chemistry. CHEMISTRY, people. I worked in a lab. People paid me money to conduct research. You’d think I’d be able to heat up some salt and water and flour properly.

In reviewing my lab notebook from today’s experiment (laugh) it would appear the first step that posed a challenge was described thusly:

Heat mixture over medium heat until thick and rubbery.

“Rubbery”? Could you qualify that a bit, please? I stirred and cooked and stirred until the cows came home and things were looking quite thick. Apparently they weren’t looking quite rubbery. Hindsight hurts.

Then came:

Knead in extra flour until dough becomes manageable.

Let me intercede here to mention that I am a bread maker. I make my own pita, buns, loaves, sourdough, whole-grain… I know how to knead, people!

Fail.

I added flour, and then I added more flour. My hands just got stickier and stickier until I decided to call it a day, and put Mackenzie down for her nap. Then I retreated to my computer to work on easy stuff: Product development, user interface design, and technical writing. It was a nice break.

Mom work is tough!

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in I am a mother. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My mom skills need honing

  1. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    sorry, it’s really funny though! here is the recipe the preschool uses and asks the parents to make…maybe it was your recipes fault and not the cooks!

    3 c flour
    1 1/2 c salt
    2 T cream of tartar
    3 c water
    2 T cooking oil

    Heat in saucepan over low heat. When mixture looks like mashed potatoes and “pulls” away from the side of the pan, add food coloring & knead.

    Like

  2. Jeannette says:

    Anne – your “mom skills” don’t need honing!!! You’re already awesome! The great thing about motherhood, is that you’ll have a gazillion other chances to make play-doh!

    Like

  3. Liz says:

    Yesterday, I attempted a recipe of baked doughnuts (no refined flour/sugar and low oil). They were more like 5mm thick bagels. I feel your fail. 🙂

    Like

  4. Kirsten says:

    And thank goodness for moms like me you go to the Playdoh aisle at target and for a $1.99 find any color at your fingertips!!! LOL!! It was totally the recipe I promise. I have a no fail one too but store bought gets the job done and my kids don’t hold it over me! Good luck…you are awesome and make the best whole wheat recipes so you have nothin to fear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

