Words to remember

Polka nut pajamas.

“My jams have polka nuts, Mama!”

Macamole.

“Mo chips with macamole, pease.”

(see also slalsa)

I not needing to.

“I not needing to take a nap in a little bit ok, Mama?”

Hold you.

(She’s sick today for the first time in a long time, so I’m hearing this a lot and it’s accompanied by a chin quiver.)

Luhyooo!

These days, whenever I say, “You know what?” my girl responds with an exuberant “Luhyooo!” She got it from me and I couldn’t be happier. I’ve been in the habit of tossing in random “You know what? I love you!” here and there and she now beats me to the punchline. She’s actually saying that I love her even though it sounds like the other way around. (See Hold you, above.)

Mommies.

“Mo mommies, pease.” (Referring to edamame. See also bonzos for garbanzo beans.)

Yest-a-day – a truly timeless word in the world of Mackenzie.

“Mama took a shower yestaday.” (As I towel off my hair.)

“I broke my foot yestaday, huh.” (Referring to June 09)

Note to self: Last week she started referring to herself as “Sensie” or even “Masensie” instead of “Sessie”. The addition of the “n” rocked my world.

My friend once wrote a blog post on the day her daughter’s beloved companion changed from “lello duck” to “yellow duck”. I didn’t get it. Now I do.

New plan: Freeze time. Halt all pronunciation progress until further notice.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Words to remember

  1. Jeannette says:

    Oh, she is just the cutest thing!!! What a joy!

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    Sweeet! Audrey says “Hold you!” to me all the time too.

    Like

  3. Camille Craw says:

    sweet! I love the yest-a-day phrase and how it is all inclusive. Go MacKenzie!

    Like

  4. Andrea says:

    Nice job with her hair! Thank goodness for my boys! I’m not that talented.

    I’m with you on the snow and running. Not a good combination these days.

    Like

  5. Angie Kelly says:

    Oh, yes. I think about freezing time all the time. I still miss ‘lello’. She’s getting so big!

    Like

Leave a Reply

