Relief

Depending on who you ask, I entered my 2nd trimester either yesterday or today.

I’ve been feeling… pretty yuck for over a month now and I was really looking forward to the magical 2nd trimester. Partially because I’ve been having a hard time keeping up with work, housework, and my toddler, but mostly because I’ve had some major inner turmoil regarding my diet.

I’m a healthy eater. I firmly believe in cooking things from scratch using whole, plant-based ingredients. It makes me feel better, helps my family prevent disease and it’s enjoyable. Or rather, it WAS enjoyable until several staples in our home started inducing the gag reflex (red bell peppers, hummus, spinach, to name a few).

I’ve had a really tough time with unhealthy cravings (maybe this nausea would go away if I’d eat some ice cream?) and with the smells coming out of our kitchen, even when Scott steps up to do the cooking.

Yesterday was no different. I had zero appetite, and had to go grocery shopping, toddler-in-tow and try not to think about food as I shopped. The following items actually sounded good to me: Breyer’s cookies n’ cream ice cream, Oriental flavored Top Ramen, Costco Pizza, Taco sauce (bought this!), and swiss cheese. I was really bummed about it because I had high hopes that entering the 2nd trimester would put my body back to normal. I consoled myself with eating lots of whole wheat sourdough toast (bless you Trader Joe’s) and homemade peanut butter. Not exactly a nutrient-dense meal, but a far cry from digging into a whole cheese pizza.

Today? Awwww I love today. Our traditional whole wheat sourdough waffles weren’t a great litmus test for breakfast because they usually go down ok… but when lunch came I knew I had found relief.

I had the following sandwich: Whole grain bread, slathered with hummus and piled high with fresh spinach, sprouts, avocado, and green bell pepper (Red and I haven’t made our peace yet).

And then? I had another one. After all, I’m eating for two. 😉

Dinner tonight was cooked by Scott and was butternut squash, wild rice, and leeks and it was yummy. I didn’t have to psych myself up to join my family at the dinner table, I didn’t have to retreat to a different floor of my house while dinner was cooking… I just pulled up a bowl and enjoyed myself.

It’s good to be back.

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Relief

  1. Liz says:

    Wish I coulda been there for that meal. Scott is such an incredible cook and I know he loves doing it. We had a crazy hectic day (it was a Sunday) but Don managed to make a super yummy version of your fam’s swedish pancakes slathered in “jamba juice” (according to the kids). Oat flour, flax, soymilk, egg whites, spices. YUM.

    Glad the unhealthy cravings have disappeared for now. Hopefully they won’t come back until your 3rd 1st trimester. 😉

    -Liz

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    First of all, didn’t know you were expecting till you mentioned it in your comment on my blog! So happy for you. Your post was so fun to read because, well, I HEAR YA! Isn’t pregnancy SO weird??? The aversions, the cravings, the gaggggggs, oh I am so done with this morning sickness thing. It’s the pits and totally throws you and life for a loop. Hope you can keep that spinach down!

    Like

  3. manwaringfam says:

    Man can I relate to this post!!!! Although I don’t eat healthy like you, something about being in your first trimester makes you crave some serious crap! Swiss cheese may be crap for you, like taco bell is crap for me! 🙂 Either way, we are both eating bad for our own personal tatses. Although, I am still throwing up in the afternoons, I am feeling so much better, overall too. Cravings are down and vitamins are coming back in!

    Glad to hear about your pregnancy journey. Very cool that we are due around the same time!! Congrats Anne!

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    Glad that you are feeling more like yourself, Anne! I think I lived on peanut butter toast my first trimester this pregnancy.

    Ice cream hasn’t sounded good at all which, for me, is quite odd 🙂 However, I couldn’t get doughnuts out of my head for about four days last week and I happened to be driving home from an OB appt one day, and that Honeydip place on your corner just happened to be open and well…I bought a couple or six of them. I probably could have done a better job of sharing them, but I *DID* share them 😉

    We’re looking forward to seeing you guys for dinner. Fear not, red peppers will not be making an appearance. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

