Bravery is relative

Scott is afraid of spiders. In fact, creepy crawly bugs in general are pretty much my domain. If they are found in the house, I am called into action to catch them and toss them out the front door… or flush them down the toilet, depending on how menacing they appear to him.

I don’t really mind, but I do hold out hope that he will overcome his fear one day and give me a break from spider duty.

Tonight as I was heading up to bed, I noticed from my vantage point on the stairs that Scott was picking up a dark spot on our carpet with a piece of tissue.

“Is that a bug?” I asked, excited. “I’m so proud of you for being brave.”

“It was a ladybug,” he responded matter-of-factly as he deposited the tissue in the trash.

“Oh.”

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bravery is relative

  1. Liz says:

    LOL. A ladybug!!!? Scott, I can’t believe you killed a ladybug and threw it into the trash! Good heavens.

    Like

  2. beanland says:

    Now, let’s not get too hasty. The ladybug may (or may not) have already been deceased at the time of trashing. I will have to probe further to be sure. Stay tuned. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

