Checking in

5 mostly minor things to report:

1) I just wrote out a “meal plan” for the month. It resulted in 4 main courses allotted per week, along with 1 or 2 supplementary dishes like a special breakfast or major side dish. One grocery shop to get fresh stuff for this week and staples for the month, then once a week shopping to get fresh stuff for that week’s menu.

This is really shaking things up from the way we usually function, but I’m liking it already. I can space things out to ensure variety, and combine dishes in a week to make sure I “use up” the fresh stuff I’m buying for the first few dishes.

2) Maternity clothes are ordered. I’m already nervous. What if the pants are too short? What if my belly is so big the shirts are already too small? What if the rumors are true and I’m really just a jeans and t-shirts kind of girl? Will the skirts and cute tops gather dust in favor of Scott’s t-shirts and my last-pregnancy jeans? I fear the future.

3) I’ve been feeling baby nudges for a week and a half now and it’s marvelous. It’s really my favorite thing about pregnancy (besides the baby at the end of the long, long road). Scott can’t feel the nudges yet, which means they are my own personal smile-inducers. If this pregnancy is anything like my pregnancy with Mackenzie, the nudges will progress in three phases:
Phase A: I discover the feelings are not gas. Then I become giddy every time I feel the secret nudges.

Phase B: Scott can feel the kicks. He gets giddy and asks often if “now’s a good time” to feel the baby.

Phase C: Baby turns into a gymnast and somersaults in such a way that my belly visibly rolls and people across the room comment and stare. Baby also naps in positions that cause my belly to appear decidedly non-round. One enormous head protruding on my right side, one enormous bum on the left. No maternity tops can disguise the lopsidedness.

4) I am starting to think about scaling back work now that Scott has a start date for residency. He’ll bring in a salary and have benefits, and we’ll stop shelling out money for medical school.

I love my job almost every minute I do it, but I’m finding that I’m physically worn out by my schedule these days. Come July, I think I will keep working part-time as I can, but I can’t deny I’m looking forward to going to bed early when Scott starts residency. Ah, sleep. I have missed you! I need more of you before I have baby #2.

5) I’ve started the early stages of planning for my master cookbook*. Here are several recipes I’ll include:

Massaged Kale Salad with Grated Root Vegetables and Avocado (Thanks, Lauren!) – We made this for Easter and it was a great hit. We shredded the rutabaga and carrots in our food processor, which sped up the prep and worked out well.

Asian Spinach Salad with Spinach and Avocado – So flavorful and easy to make. It tastes rich but has little oil. We use toasted sesame oil, but cut it back a bit because that flavor is really strong. We use red onion if we don’t have shallots on hand.

Fresh Corn Soup Topped with Roasted Corn Guacamole – A lovely taste of summer that you can make anytime, with frozen corn. So light and yummy.

Indian Baked Rice – We double the spices and onions, use brown rice, add soaked raisins, and leave out most of the oil. So basically, we decimated the original recipe, but with fabulous results. We make this several times a year and it’s on the menu for this week!

*The goals of The Cookbook, for the curious:
– Have something I can bring into the kitchen. Recipes scattered across two computers, email boxes and bookmarked webpages just aren’t doing it for me.
– Have a great list of tried-and-true recipes I can skim to find inspiration for dinner or to use up specific ingredients in my fridge.
– Not let stellar recipes fall between the cracks. Every six months we’ll remember an awesome recipe that we haven’t made because we simply forgot it existed.
– Have a seasonal index, to help me buy in season (cheaper and healthier) and thus keeping our menus varied year-round.
– Have something I can easily share with those who ask for recipes or simply ask “what do you guys EAT?!”
– Make it be flexible so I can still write on and modify recipes, add additional recipes, etc. with ease.
– Make it easy. I won’t be photographing dishes or re-typing recipes already in cookbooks I own. I’ll simply include the recipe and book title and page number in my cookbook index.

The current plan is to compile on my computer, index, and then print out indexes and from-the-computer recipes. Place in binder by category, in page protectors. Number recipes thusly: Soups 100+ Breads 200+ Salads 300+ etc. That way I can drop in new recipes at the end of a section and they get a unique recipe number. I’ll pencil them into the applicable indexes and print out fresh indexes whenever they’re way out of date.

It’s definitely a project, but sounds way better than continually flipping through books and bookmarks to find something for dinner when I know I’ve got dozens of good candidates hiding someplace. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Checking in

  1. Liz says:

    Great to hear from you! And wow, that is a fun new border!

    We are getting excited for the trip to WY. I hope the baby is kicking a little harder by then so I can feel him (it’s a boy).

    Like

  2. Kathryn says:

    I just wanted to thank you for your blog. I came upon it when I was looking up healthy recipes and I was very pleased with what I found. My mom and I are vegan, we have been for about a year (can’t quite convince my husband, dad, or brothers that it is worth it!) I hadn’t read the China Study and I went out and got it soon after reading your blog. It just confirmed that being a vegetarian/vegan is the way to go. My mom had breast cancer and I went to a group of classes that was run by the cancer project. The book they studied (Surviving Cancer guidebook) was very similar to the China Study and gave the reasons why meat, dairy, and trans/saturated fats cause cancer/chronic disease and that by being vegan can reduce the risk by nearly 50%. I’m glad there are people like you out there and I love that you are doing a health group at church, I feel like I should start one here in Seattle. I am also LDS and feel that every gathering includes food that I don’t agree to being healthy. (Especially when I was at BYU-Idaho) So it’s nice to see that change can be made.

    Like

  3. Jessica says:

    I’m working on one of those too! But it’s not quite as healthy… 🙂

    Like

  4. Jenny (Vest) Hatch says:

    yeah! new recipes, i love it when you post new ones. We’ve become pretty much all vegan diet around here, and am feeling and seeing great results. Looking forward to hearing more about your cookbook! Congrats on the pregnancy!! And good luck with the clothes! I’ve gone through all that 3 times over and still haven’t found a ton of maternity clothes that I love – especially pants!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

