Getting ripped

Scott and I have birthdays exactly three weeks apart, so sometimes my mom consolidates our birthday gifts into one big whammy.

This year, she gave us P90X and resistance bands. It’s a workout program with a dozen DVDs and major intensity, and you may have even seen an infomercial about it. I hadn’t, but my family is hooked on it.

Scott and I just finished day 3. (The 90 stands for 90 days, mixing up DVDs each day so you keep building muscles.)

Being 16 1/2 weeks pregnant, I modify the workouts somewhat. For example, tonight we did the “Arms and Shoulders” 60 minute workout followed by the 12 minute Ab Ripper.

Scott plowed through the whole thing, grunting and sweating and rocking the exercises. When Ab Ripper started, he dug in and got the job done.

Here’s what my workout looked like:

I did the first 30 minutes of Arms and Shoulders, at a lower intensity than Scott. Then I spent the next 30 minutes recording his reps and cheering him on from the couch.

When Ab Ripper started, I “modified” the workout by going upstairs and eating leftover pineapple coconut curry instead. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting ripped

  1. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    ahhh P90X! yes, the infomercial is on all the time. it seems like everyone is into! i’ll be interested to see how it goes, I hear it is kinda intense.

    Like

  2. denise says:

    what a fun gift! We have a bro in law who enjoys the program.

    it is great that you are organizing and filing all of your recipes. It is something I need to do too. It is so hard to look up recipes on the computer while cooking!

    It’d be great if you can share some more recipes as you get them organized. I always appreciate seeing good recipes posted.

    Like

  3. Andrea says:

    I like your workout. . . I’ve heard that those DVD’s are tough! I can’t wait to hear your opinion in a couple weeks too. Just keep up with the curry! The appetite is a funny thing when you’re pregnant.

    Can I reserve a copy of the recipe book now? : )I’m glad you’re doing that!

    Like

  4. Jessica says:

    Haha! I dabbled in p90x a bit….Nate did it…oh ab ripper how I remember you! Go you for doing ANY while pregnant. It’s a great workout, that’s for sure. Have you done Kenpo? I whacked Nate a good one doing that so tell Scott to look out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

