I know her best

Written April 12th, 2010

It occurred to me today that should anything happen to me, Mackenzie’s caretaker would have a steep learning curve. My girl is a jabberer but her meaning is lost to most people, so I find myself serving as translator regularly. Scott understands more than most, but after a day away needs a briefing on the latest additions to Mackenzie’s world.

Here are some things I know about her:

1) When she says “hold you”, she has very specific conditions in mind. She wants to be held on your hip, so she can cling to you like a monkey. She wants you to stand up and hold her, because sitting down is just not the same. And, if at all possible, she would like you to resume your regular activity so she can tag along and watch you cook, clean, etc.

2) If you ask her to pick a song to sing before nap or bedtime, she will always respond “Heavenly Father”. That means she wants you to sing “A Child’s Prayer”. I hope you’re not in a hurry because she knows there are two verses. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in I am a mother, Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

