Not quite halfway to a baby

Today I am 20 weeks pregnant. Many people would say this is the halfway point, but I’m not buying it.

Think about it: The first two weeks of your pregnancy you aren’t technically pregnant. Plus, the pregnancy might last 42 weeks total and if it does the last two weeks should count at least double.

No, I’m trying to take the longhaul view here and sticking with “almost halfway” when people ask.

The following details are for my future self, who I’m certain will be scouring the archives of this blog with the next pregnancy wondering “how long did THIS symptom last… and surely I shouldn’t feel THAT way yet?”

  • No more nausea. Shrimp and main dishes with cinnamon in them still make me want to throw up until I’m inside out, but everything else is back on the table. Leafy greens, bell peppers, hummus… I’m back in the game.
  • Junk food cravings? Still going strong. Tonight I was nearly waylaid by a cold piece of Papa Murphy’s pepperoni pizza being consumed by my niece. The theme definitely seems to be any food that reminds me of my childhood. Hotdogs, ice cream, and pizza top the list. I generally cave and eat ice cream (or frozen custard, um yum) once a week, something chocolatey once a week, and make my own version of pizza regularly (whole wheat crust, loaded with veggies, and a token amount of cheese).
  • Reflux. I vaguely remember this from my last pregnancy, but it makes a regular appearance in the evenings now and is not enjoyable.
  • Restless legs. So far only a couple of nights’ worth, but enough to put the fear in me. Anything that cuts into sleep time is an automatic enemy.
  • The tingles. I have poor circulation on my best days and pregnancy tends to aggravate this so I wake up in the morning with dead limbs and can’t seem to get comfortable on the couch with a laptop without constantly shifting.
  • Migraines. I’m so, so grateful they have been much more infrequent with this pregnancy. In fact, I’ve only had 2, but because I didn’t catch them early enough, they hung on for a full 24 hours each with only brief periods of reprieve. Then I spend the 24 hours after that being weak and nauseous and good-for-nothing. With my last pregnancy, I got my first one of my life in the 2nd trimester and they came regularly (though I learned to recognize the signs and averted most of them). I also had them while breastfeeding and they stopped completely after I weaned Mackenzie.
  • Back pain. My belly isn’t that big, but my lower back has seen some really achy days. Not a one since I started tagging along with some of Scott’s P90X workouts though. So maybe it was just telling me to quit slacking on the exercise?

IMPORTANT NOTE: I love being pregnant, I really do. I appreciate it and treasure it and I can feel the baby move lots now, which makes it all worth it. And, I think the more infrequent migraines with this pregnancy makes it much easier than my last.

Scott hasn’t felt the baby kick yet, but it’s a matter of poor timing so far. All the good kicks come when he’s not around. 🙂

About beanland

Scott is a family practice doctor and Anne is a full-time mother and teacher to three beautiful girls and one boy.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not quite halfway to a baby

  1. kimmy8989 says:

    Congratulations on your 20th weeks 🙂

    Like

  2. Maya says:

    yay for being *almost* halfway done!!! your comment about the 42 weeks made me laugh. i had my first prenatal appt. this week, just with a nurse, and she was saying “now dear, it’s normal to go a couple of days past your due date sometimes.” i replied with “if you mean a couple of weeks past the due date then yep, totally normal!” i think sometimes they forget the due date is really just a plus or minus 2 weeks guess date, haha.

    yuck about the migraines! i’ve gotten them a lot with this pregnancy. do you take tylenol for them, or is there something natural you do to head them off?

    are you guys going to find out the gender ahead of time again?

    Like

  3. Jessica says:

    Ooooooo. Good point. We really AREN’T halfway are we. I’m in trouble. The stairs are already killing me.

    Like

  4. lisa (lost pezhead) says:

    i get the headaches too, but not the migranes – ouch. hopefully you will feel okay for the next 20ish weeks! it’s so fun to feel the baby moving, hopefully scott gets a turn soon too!

    Like

  5. Camille Craw says:

    I was so sad to have missed you when we visited. Half way through…hmmmm….it is deceptive isn’t it? But, it is nonetheless a milestone. It seems as soon as I hit 30 weeks…wow it goes really fast!

    Like

Leave a Reply

